good ideas dissolve into the sea

So last night before I went to bed I had a whole blog post written in my head. It was witty, original, fantastic. Everyone would be amazed. And yet, this morning when I woke up, it was gone. I can’t even remember what the topic was. How sad is that.  Seriously, who really keeps pen and paper by their bed and jots down these things before they forget? I’m usually too comfy by then to disturb myself.

Besides, my writings always sound better in my head. Even when I try to write them down word for word it doesn’t sound as good. I wonder why that is. I’ve been told that every writer thinks their writings aren’t as good as everyone elses. Maybe even the translation from brain to paper isn’t as good?

I was wondering, though, how people find original ideas. Do they go to google and type in their idea and see if something comes up?  How about to the online library catalogues and type in keywords to see if anyone has written on that subject? Perhaps they just write it and hope it’s original and then sometimes they get lucky.

Seems to me that often great ideas come in clusters – they seem to occur to several people at the same time. I think it’s strange that sometimes I’ll think “hey, wouldn’t this be a great idea! I wonder why no one has done it yet?” and suddenly, somebody has just started it… about the time or just after I thought up my great idea. So unless all these people are reading my mind (unlikely) or I’m telepathic (definitely not) the ideas have to happen to more than one person at once.

Actually, I have this idea in my head that I’d really love somebody to act on, because frankly, I don’t have the oomph to actually do it, and there’s complications about ownership and money and such.  So, get to it!

In the meantime… I’ll try to remember what my witty, original, fantastic post was about.

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

2 responses to “good ideas dissolve into the sea”

  1. Lydia says :

    Having attained bitter old hag-hood in writing terms, I can tell you that given the same idea, no two writers will produce the same thing (even if they try).

    I shared an office once with the spouse of another writer. As we passed hours together, I told my officemate my best stories. As I found out later, she ran right home & told them to her spouse. This distressed me until I saw that the piece I wrote & the piece her spouse wrote from the same source were not recognizably even from the same source.

    And from the hag perspective, I can tell you it is entirely normal to be haunted by the ghost of what you originally intended to write when you look at what you did write. I can barely see what I wrote for all the ghosts! Only someone outside my head can see what I write — I am convinced of it.

    As to where you get ideas… well, I am attacked by them constantly. I think we all are. It’s a question of recognizing them & changing their intent. A painter’s intent is color & shape, mine is words & performance.

    Blah blah blah, obviously I’m not shy about blathering!

  2. Broot says :

    *muah* I like your blatherings, Lyd.

Leave a Reply

