Does Something or Someone determine what you do with your life?

Doesn’t matter what you call it. Predetermination. Fate. Predestiny. Divine Will. Fortune. Providence. Everyone seems to have a story about it, either how it happened to them or how they don’t believe in it.

It crosses all faiths in one form or another. Even atheists have a few words for it. Not necessarily polite, mind you.

But is there anything to it?

My Nan likes to say “if it’s meant to be, it will happen” and in my experience, there is some truth to that.  I didn’t get one job, and a better one did come along. It didn’t work out with one boyfriend, and a much better one came along.

And funny how certain things seem to work out faster and easier than others. For example, my move to another country – the ducks all lined up in a row, quickly and easily. Things happened the way they needed to happen. Paperwork was filled out and approved easily. Hubby found a job, we found a house… it wasn’t perfect smooth sailing but all things considered, it was easy.

On the other hand, me finding a full time job here has not been easy. The job opportunities were there, and even the job offers. But something always happened to make accepting the job difficult, impossible, or just plain harder than was worth it at the time. Instead, I got several jobs that I can do while my children are in school, and I can be home with them. That was easy. Doesn’t pay as much, but I’m happier, my kids are happier, and the hubby is happy cuz there’s still income coming in.

So maybe it’s not the right thing to do, but now, when somebody suggests a new idea or a new plan, I give it a go, and wait for the easy. If things aren’t falling into place with diligent researching and attempts to make it work, then I start thinking “maybe this wasn’t meant to be, or maybe not right now.”

Notice I didn’t say I wait for things to happen by themselves. Nor do I wait for things to come easily. I do the work to make it happen, and see if the pieces fall into place easy. I am enough of a skeptic that I don’t jump on every bandwagon there is.

When whatever you want to call it makes me wait, good things tend to happen. So I listen. Kismet. Dharma.

We have a current plan, my hubby and I. And so far, things haven’t been going easy. This plan has been around for about 2 years, and has been blocked at nearly every turn. But then, something happened the other day that looked like things are starting to fall into place.  Did we just have to wait a few years? Did one (or both) of us learn or experience whatever it was we were waiting to learn in the meantime? Did the kids? Jury’s still out, but I’ll believe that the plan will work only when those ducks start lining up.

Maybe whatever you want to call it needs us to stay where we are for a certain amount of time. Maybe we need to learn something while we’re at this job, or that job, in this location, at this school, with these friends. Maybe it’s a bad experience we’re waiting for, that will teach us something. Maybe it’s something that will make our lives easier.

Even if it has nothing to do with religion there seems to be something to it. God’s Will. Global Consciousness. Karma. Foreordination. Fortune. Inevitability. Lot. Maybe even Serendipity.

I’m not ruling it out just yet.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

2 responses to “Does Something or Someone determine what you do with your life?”

  1. solodialogue says :

    Mysterious, this post. I do believe in “predestination” myself to a degree. Weirder than you though, I have inklings – wouldn’t call it belief yet- in parrallel universes where more than one outcome plays itself out in endless ways. Regardless of the reality of that or not, I’m quite sure the actions we do take, have an impact on the steering wheel of our life course. But yes, to some degree, I concur that there is a force beyond us that shapes the here and now and yes, I too believe in God’s will. Wow, you really made me think on this one!!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. SOC: Android tablets « Craving a Little Perspective - February 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

