Serendipity at the library

I love the word “serendipity.” I love the colour of it (green and blue and orange, for my fellow synesthetes) , I love the sound of it, I love the meaning of it, and I love invoking it.

The first time I heard about it was in the children’s book “Serendipity” by Stephen Cosgrove.

My favourite place to invoke serendipity is at the library. I wander the stacks and wait for serendipity to reveal itself. I’ve found so many books I wouldn’t have read otherwise, just by walking the stacks.

I’ve also found the drawbacks of the dewey decimal system that way. Books with the same subject are not always found beside each other in the library.  For example, biographies and autobiographies. They can be found all over the non-fiction area, because sometimes they sneak into a subject section, out of the autobiography/biographies.

I often look for child development books for my work with Playcentre.  They, too, are strewn all over, depending on whether the book is about child development, child learning, child difficulties or problems, or true life stories.

This is why I enjoy invoking serendipity at the library. I find interesting things. Especially in areas that I normally wouldn’t go.

Today I found The Great Food Gamble and Small is Still Beautiful in the economics section. Not things I usually read but they look interesting, so I’m going to give them a try.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

11 responses to “Serendipity at the library”

  1. Jenn@ You know... that Blog? says :

    It truly is a word that flows beautifully, isn’t it?

    I love books, and dream of one day having a library of my own, where I shall hide from my children. 😉

    Have a wonderful, serendipitous day.

  2. Jenny Matlock says :

    Stopping by from SITS! It must be a lot of fun working at a library! If you have time today stop by my blog, I’m doing a little giveaway 🙂

  3. Chennifer says :

    Great post!
    The library used to be my favorite place, until I moved to this mini-town where they don’t have any of the books I want. So now, library for me equals frustration…

    Don’t forget to speak out against racial and ethnic profiling in Arizona – I have several sites on my blog post where you can protest!

  4. theonlycin says :

    I love the word too!

  5. Robin G says :

    I love the book Serendipity! As well as the experience.

    I often find books through the wander process. The feel of the title or the cover wil grab me.

    I can almost picture the colors with the word. Those colors definitely fit the word. Thanks for helping me understand just a little bit.

  6. solodialogue says :

    Serendipity is not a word I hear too often but it just goes with the whole concept of a library, doesn’t it? I love everything about library books, the diversity, the wonder and adventure that can be found there, the smells and feels of the books, their pictures and the rich and beautiful impressions they can leave on our minds. You spark inspiration in me. Thanks. I’m grateful. 🙂

  7. susan says :

    yes i remember that book! magical! and in fact i have a friend whose daughter is called Serendipity (often shortened to Dippy).
    I never knew about synesthetes as an actual concept…made me smile because just this week i played (what i thought was an original) game with my kids: if happy was a colour, if sad was a colour, if a burp was a colour etc…
    how serendipidous:)

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Questions and Answers ( a meme) | Craving a Little Perspective - April 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

