Freedom from Facebook

I finally did it.

Yesterday I finally “removed” the last application associated with my Facebook account. I felt like having a party!!

It all started about 2 years ago when I discovered I was addicted to Facebook. It was my first thought in the morning and my last at night.  Mostly because of a game called Knighthood, which required nearly 24/7 maintenance.  Then of course came FarmTown, FarmVille, and the rest.

Since then, my goal has been to get rid of all the time stealers. Knighthood was first. Two Januaries ago, I removed and blocked Knighthood for good.

The rest have followed, slowly but surely, as I got to a level predetermined by me. (Some games I just wasn’t ready to leave yet.)

But yesterday, I achieved 100% on all levels and prizes for Egg Breaker. It was the last one. I hit “remove” and voila, Facebook can only be used for talking with people. What relief. And as a bonus, I’m no longer sitting at my computer for ages. I’m getting my real work done, and my housework. My kids are getting more of my attention (they weren’t neglected, but now they have even more of my time).

I feel really good about this change. I’m thrilled. And now, I’m off to play legos with my kids.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

19 responses to “Freedom from Facebook”

  1. Tammy says :

    FB is such a time sucker. When I started blogging I signed off to the FB world. I stop by in the morning only and it feels good…

    Stopping by from SITS!

    Enjoy all the free time you are going to have!

  2. Leslie Limon says :

    Yay for you!!! I too was once addicted to games like Farmtown and Farmville. But I am so glad that I quit! 🙂

  3. Jenn@ You know... that Blog? says :

    You’re so brave… and smart. I need to get smart. I did limit myself to ONLY FarmVille, but that wretched app sucks the life out of me.

    I love FB, and it’s always on when I’m sitting here working. I spend far too much time there, but it’s a happy addiction for the most part.

    One day I’m going to delete FV and that will be it for me too. Just… not today.

  4. J West says :

    Hi! Thanks for the note when you stopped by earlier today. I completely know what you mean with fb. At our house, we have affectionately named them BWT’s (Big Waste of Time). They are also psp, wii, xbox, etc. Our teens don’t think it is as funny as R and I do… Oh well 🙂 It’s crazy how not all time suckers are bad things. They just distract us from our goals. Hope to see you, again! Have a great day!

  5. Pumpkin and Piglet says :

    I know that feeling. I used to have a massive obsession with Cafe World, I’d think about it all the time and spend ages playing it. Once I started bloggin, I found I didn’t want to spend as much time on it any more and finally scrapped it for good a couple of weeks agao. It felt good and, like you, my FB is now purely for catching up with friends and family! Well done!

    Stopping by from SITS to say Hi.

  6. Erin says :

    I just recently stopped playing the games. I was level 200+ on mafia wars, in the 40’s on Farmville, had gotten high in Petville, and had started Cafe World. Something just clicked and I realized how much time I was wasting on all of it. It’s nice to get on FB, check out what’s going on in my friend’s lives, and get off. Freeing, actually!

    Stopping by from SITS!

    xo Erin

  7. Lizzie says :

    Good for you! Congratulations. It was Robin Hood and then Farmville for me. No longer! Freedom!!
    Stopped by from SITS, Happy Monday!

  8. Ms. Understood says :

    I haven’t been sucked in by the facebook monster (I just never signed up). My bestfriend is addicted. Congrats on breaking free from all the stuff on there and finding time to just do what you need to do.

    Stopping by from SITS.

  9. The Only Girl says :

    This makes me even more thankful than I already was about not getting sucked into those types of games!

    Enjoy the Lego.

  10. Tammy says :

    I too am addicted to FB! I never thought I could or would be addicted to something like that. I think it is kind of funny. I joke about needing a 12 step program. I don’t play tooo (then again what are too many) games, at least I don’t think I do!
    Anyway.. I found you on SITS… and hope to be reading more of you. So you live in New Zealand. (big sigh). That is on my bucket list of places I have to go before I kick the bucket!

    • Broot says :

      Yes, I do!! I moved here from Canada and I love it (despite the occasional grumblings). You definitely have to come visit at some point. It is well worth it.

  11. JDaniel4's Mom says :

    My sister loves the Farm on Facebook. It looks like it takes a lot of time. Stopping from SITS!

  12. Carrie says :

    I recently deleted my entire Facebook account. I found it a HUGE waste of time and the privacy issues bugged me.

    Visiting from SITS

  13. MsBabyPlan says :

    Congratulations on your achievement, stopping by from Sits.

  14. life with kaishon says :

    Good for you! I have never played any of the games on facebook but so many of my friends swear by them : )

  15. Simone says :

    I had to do that with Farmtown! It was the only one I got into, but then i started getting invites for Cafe World… which I now ignore! I mean, bloggin takes so much time as it is!!
    Good onya!

Leave a Reply

