Bathroom Renos – it’s worse than we think.

The builder called me back into the bathroom during his happy demolition.

“Got a problem,” he says. I had guessed.

He pointed. “Black mould. And you’ve got dry rot all in there from a past leak.  I’m going to have to take it all out and redo it. What’s behind this wall?”

My daughter’s bedroom. Oh dear. This is getting serious.

And he showed me how it was even affecting the floor in my daughters room.

Insert more cussing here.

The builder disappeared for awhile, and when he came back, construction noises filled the house.  The dry rot and black mould was removed, the floor was repaired, and a new bathtub frame went up. The plumber came and did what he needed to do.  It looked like everything was back on track.

But that would be too easy, wouldn’t it?

It would. I got called back in again.

The builder lifted the lino beside the bathtub, and showed me the rotten, soaked hardboard underneath. “I can’t fix that for you, mate. I can work around it, but the lino’s gonna have to go eventually.”

Uh, okay, I guess. This is where we sighed a sigh of relief that the floor was sealed below the rotten hardboard. Because replacing floors is a major.

And at the end of the day, the builder packed up to go. New bathtub in, and new aqualine gib up. So can we use the tub?

“No, sorry. Need the plasterer. And I have to order your wall liner. The Plasterer will be here in the morning. Liner here on Thursday. See you then!” he said cheerily and away he went.

I went for another shower at the inlaws.

<to be continued>

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

2 responses to “Bathroom Renos – it’s worse than we think.”

  1. small burst says :

    I feel your pain. I’ve learned recently that renos take longer than you think. Even if the contractors give you a time line, add a week or 2 to that. Once it’s over, you’ll forget the heartache that comes along with a big job.

Leave a Reply

