Hot water bottles shouldn’t be just for Nannas.

I’m sure this is a meme from somewhere, but I don’t know where. (Feel free to let me know and I will update this post with the details!!)

I’ve seen many people blog about what they’d tell their younger self.

I thought about it a long time. And now I’ve decided.

I’d go back to my 14 year old self, who had just moved to a new house in a new city.

In the new house, I had the basement bedroom. The thermostat in that room seemed to control the rest of the house. So if the thermostat said 70F – the rest of the house was 90F. My father insisted that the thermostat in my bedroom stay below 65F. My room was always freezing.

So the first thing I’d tell my 14 year old self is: “Get a hot water bottle, woman!! And use it! You’ll sleep better cuz you won’t be cold!!” Will I listen? I dunno. hot water bottles are for nannas, aren’t they? (I must be a nanna then cuz I use my hot water bottle all the time during the winter!!)

By the time I was 14, I had spent a lot of time at the doctor’s office, trying to get them to sort out why my right knee hurt all the time. They could never find anything wrong and insisted I was a hypochondriac or something. To this day I have trouble seeing a doctor for fear of being labelled a hypochondriac again. So with that in mind, here’s the second thing I’d tell my 14 year old self:

There’s nothing wrong with your right knee. Ask the doctor to send you to a podiatrist. The problem is in the muscles of your right foot. You need orthotics.

I figure that one thing will change a lot of things for me. Most notably, I probably wouldn’t have ended up as sedentary as I am now. I was in a lot of pain back then and everyone was quick to assume I was just trying to get out of PhysEd at school.

So yeah. Just those two things. I know I could say a lot more, but some things just have to be learned, even if they do come with a lot of humiliation. These two things I’d like to tell myself have more to do with removing physical pain and increasing comfort.

(And I’m very sure my Dad would thank me for helping the sleep problem… trust me. He can tell you extremely embarrassing stories about what happens when I don’t get enough sleep.)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

11 responses to “Hot water bottles shouldn’t be just for Nannas.”

  1. hopelesslycrushingonyou says :

    girl i thought you were gonna say use the hot water for something else…lol……i guess it good for other things too…
    good read
    hope
    http://hopelesslycrushingonyou.wordpress.com/2010/07/01/david/

  2. Michelle (hometc) says :

    Oh how I wish I could roll up to the 15 year old me and say “Break up with your boyfriend before he wrecks his car and breaks your neck in the process. And stop drinking. Even adults have a hard time being responsible with alcohol.”
    Nice blog. Stopping by from SITS 🙂

  3. Jenn@ You know... that Blog? says :

    I’ve been considering a “note to my young self” blog post for quite a while, but there are so many things I’d like to say I am having trouble deciding where to address it (age wise). You’ve got me thinking about it again. Hrmm…

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. MOMSICLE VIBE says :

    Oh my gosh, my knee hurt all the time too and no one took it seriously!!! It STILL hurts and I’m almost 30. Maybe I need orthotics! It is a huge reason I don’t get enough exercise, it hurts too much to do lots of the things I love doing!
    I don’t know where I’d even begin on a note to my younger self…

    • Broot says :

      oh yes, go to a podiatrist!! Foot problems often show up as knee and hip problems (as I found out later!!) Yeah, I had to think about it for a long time before I decided what I’d say.

  5. Dumb Mom says :

    Good advice! I’d tell my 14 year old self to buy a dang bikini because I’ll get plenty of time to cover up my actually fat belly (as opposed to my imagined fat belly) when I’m older. I wish I had the body I loathed in 9th grade!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Questions and Answers ( a meme) | Craving a Little Perspective - April 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

