Messy brain, messy house

Any of my good friends can tell you that if my house is a mess, then my brain is a chaotic mess as well.

My hubby has learned that if the house is a mess it will stay that way until I’ve done what I need to do to “clear my head.”  He’s a sweetie though, so he does his best to tidy up around me.

He complains about my “piles of papers” good naturedly and patiently waits for whatever it is that gets me out of my little funk.

Usually it’s because I’m trying to do too many things at once and my brain just doesn’t know where to start.

For the last 3 weeks, I’ve been trying to juggle 9 different work hats as well as my Mum/Wife/Housekeeper tasks (um, and this blog. yeah).   My house has been an absolute tip. (That means it’s a mess, for you North American types.) My brain has been too full of stuff, disorganised, messy, and all over the place as I juggled everything. The house matched.

Just this past weekend, I finally caught up on the biggest task – proofreading and editing for this. And it was the end of the school term, so that finished up a few hats, too, for the moment.

Yesterday morning I felt refreshed and ready to go. And my hubby watched with amusement as our messy house slowly became tidy again. My house now resembles my brain – tidy and organised, tasks planned and ready.

So if you ever come over to my house and it’s an absolute tip, honest, it’s not because I’m a poor housekeeper. It means my brain is too full of things to do. Help me finish some of the tasks in my brain, and my house will nearly clean itself!!

Tags: , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

9 responses to “Messy brain, messy house”

  1. Jenn@ You know... that Blog? says :

    I love a clean and neat house, but I need the threat (or is that treat?) of company coming to keep it in that state. Well, it’s “clean”, but neat is often another story 😉 I’m just always so busy with my businesses and the girls that I don’t have the energy to worry about it!

  2. Jenn@ You know... that Blog? says :

    Oh, clicked on the link – well done, you! 🙂

  3. Debra says :

    I am not sure that the mess ever gets cleaned up, just moved. 🙂

  4. wendiwinn says :

    i’m going to use “tip” from now on. this house is a tip! when i cry, i’m a tip! that server was awful, she gets no tip!

    wait. that last one isn’t right…

  5. Sorta Southern Single Mom says :

    I’m right there with you, with me, it’s paper piles. When I’ve got too much on my plate, I can’t seem to throw anything out or file anything and it just stacks up in a pile, usually in my bedroom. It’s really big right now!

    Thanks for commenting on Single Mom in the South!

Leave a Reply

