House hunting snobbery

I’m a house hunting snob. There, I said it.

My hubby likes to move a lot. He moved a lot as a kid, and he still likes to move.  Doesn’t matter if we move 3 doors down the street (we have!!) it’s the move that makes him happy.

So we house hunt a lot. We read the real estate papers, and we look up houses online often.

We turn up our nose at a lot of houses. And not necessarily because of the house itself, but because of how the real estate agents market them online.

Pictures are the worst.  Why on earth do agents take some of the pictures they do?  I don’t need to see a picture of a messy desk… but I would like a picture that indicates the size of and light in a room.

And why would you take a picture of a child jumping on the trampoline? Do I get to keep the trampoline with the house?  I’d rather see exactly how big the backyard is, thanks.

I don’t need to see a picture of the homeowners child in every room – and do they have permission to post a picture of that child online?  Believe me, there are usually enough signs for me to tell if it is a child-friendly house. Ditto on the homeowners dog or cat.

Pictures of a very messy house usually means the house is currently rented/tenanted. Off our list immediately. We aren’t looking for a renter.

No pictures of the inside of a house? Then we know immediately there’s a lot of damage and/or there’s renters/tenants.  Again, off our list immediately. We aren’t looking for a do-upper/DIY, either. (Hubby is NOT that way inclined.)

And then there’s the prices of houses.  Hubby & I take any house that’s marketed as an auction/by negotiation/price on asking off our list immediately.  We assume we can’t afford it. Maybe we can, but because the price range isn’t indicated, we aren’t going to waste our time (or the real estate agent’s time) by phoning around asking for a price range.

Finally, there’s the bumph accompanying the listing. “Owners instructions are to sell!” Um, yeah, you think? And the typos, oh the typos!! And then there’s the ones that use all the same headers “She’s a beaut!” 5 times on a page diminishes the effect.

So, if you’re trying to sell your house, make sure:

1) You *clean* your house as best you can before the agent takes pictures. Same thing if you’re selling it yourself.

2) You take pictures that show the light and size of the room. Don’t take pictures of furniture unless they come with the house.  Pictures of features that come with the house are great. If your agent doesn’t do this, make them take them again, or take some yourself.

3) You list some kind of pricing range for the house.  Even if it’s to put the highest likely amount you’ll get for the house. If you can’t do that, then at least give a starting range.

4) You check the agents listing for typos and originality and insist they change it if it’s horrible!

Those things alone make sure that house hunting snobs like hubby and me will actually *look* at your house and not just move on to the next!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

8 responses to “House hunting snobbery”

  1. Robin G says :

    I hate moving. I can’t imagine moving a lot — on purpose!

    So I haven’t done lots of house shopping. I think any reason you check a house off your list is valid. It’s your house, you should enjoy acquiring it.

    As for typos, don’t get me started. The complete lack of writing ability in so many selling situations flabbergasts me. Do these people really think they can write?

    Yes, I am a writing snob. But if you’re selling something shouldn’t you try to represent it well? Horrible writing in your sales pitch doesn’t do it for me.

    Good luck house hunting.

  2. JDaniel4's Mom says :

    I am just the opposite. We never move. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Morgan says :

    I really enjoy moving as well! I completely agree with all your tips!
    You aren’t a snob. You have got it right.

  4. Jenn@ You know... that Blog? says :

    Agreed – nothing worse than a poor listed home. I try to look past bad pictures, but often get such a negative feeling about the listing that I abandon it and move on to the next.

    I HATE moving. I’ve done it so many times in my life, and I really just want to find the perfect place to call home and STAY there. That said, we are very DIY capable, and I would love to find a cheaper fixer-upper that we could turn into a dream home over time. Definitely on the prowl for that right now!

  5. citymouse says :

    This sounds like good advice. Even though we’re not in the market for a new house, I will still look over the listings… guess I’m nosy. Now I feel like I have an upper hand of some kind.

    Stopping by from SITS to say hi.

  6. puasaurusrex says :

    I wouldn’t call that snobbery! I’m the same way. I also hate when pictures of rooms are taken at such odd angles you can’t get a “feel” for the room. I used to move a lot as a kid, so I enjoy looking at pictures of houses currently on the market, just to imagine another move.

    Thanks for stopping by the other day!

  7. saretta says :

    Oh, I hate moving! I’ve moved more than 20 times in my life and I hope to never move again. As for online real estate photo disasters, you have to check out http://lovelylisting.com/ for a laugh!

Leave a Reply

