I’m so glad I didn’t have to do that.

I didn’t sleep well last night. I was thinking about Monday. How on earth was I going to get Child #1 to school, Child #2 and me to an all-day workshop, and then pick up Child #1 an hour before the workshop was over?

How would Child #2 deal with being in a creche all day? (I was betting poorly. She goes to preschool but it’s never more than 6 hours, and only twice a week. And she won’t know these people.)

Would I be strong enough to keep my words in check, since I was so angry and resentful that I had to go to this workshop in the first place? And the Facilitator was already being a bit unreasonable?

(I mean, we’re talking a 9-4 workshop on a MONDAY, children not allowed, where the workshop is aimed at Parents As First Teachers, facilitated by a Woman Who Should Know Better. Guess what she’s lecturing on? Respect for the needs and rights of your children. <snark> Seriously. And she’s wondering why a hall that can seat 60 will only have 20 people in it. Part of me would like to have seen what WOULD have happened if she had held it on two consecutive Saturdays, or two weeknights. Bet she would have filled the hall then!!)

At any rate, this morning I got a phone call that said the person who was going to cover for my job that day was unable to go. So ergo, no workshop for me. And I am beyond relieved. So much easier to plan the day, and so much easier for my children.

And I think I’m “Respecting the Needs and Rights” of my children better this way too. They’ll have a relaxed and happy Mum; child #1 can come straight home after school the way he likes it, and Child #2 won’t be cared for by strangers all day. Yeah. Much better.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

5 responses to “I’m so glad I didn’t have to do that.”

  1. MOMSICLE VIBE says :

    Don’t you LOVE when that happens? When it all falls into place just in time? Those days are the best. A regular work day all of a sudden is much more appealing 🙂

  2. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Serendipity! Gotta love it 😀

  3. embejo says :

    Hmm the irony is not lost on me….
    But glad you got off the hook on that one 🙂

Leave a Reply

