Bucket List

I’m slowly but surely making the planned changes… it’s been a bit slow and I apologise.

In the meantime, challenged by Jenn at You know…that Blog? I have been thinking about my bucket list. All the stuff I wanna do before I can’t.

I’ve determined I’m either really boring, or not inspired enough to make a really cool list. Cuz check this out:

1) I want a piano of my own so I can sit and play to my heart’s content.

2) I want to swim with dolphins. (Shouldn’t be hard – I live in a country where this isn’t just possible, there’s a whole industry!)

3) I want to see my children grow up to be self-sufficient good citizens, and watch them get married and have children.

4) I want to take my children to Canada and have them experience a proper winter Christmas.

5) I want to be debt-free and in whatever counts as my dream house at the time.

6) I want to get my BMI into the healthy range.

And yeah, here’s where I get stuck. I’ve already done a lot of travelling, so I don’t have a travelling bug.  I’ve already met and married my soul mate, and have two wonderful kids.

Lady Bear, my beautiful Chow Chow

When I was little I always dreamed of having a Chow Chow. My beautiful Lady Bear crossed the rainbow bridge 2 years ago now. So that doesn’t need to go on my list.

I also wanted to be a published writer. Well, technically I will be at the end of this month, when my editorial is published in the Journal I’ve been working on all this month.

I’m not a celebrity fan, so there’s nobody I *need* to meet to feel fulfilled.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that my bucket is already pretty full and my life is pretty happy and content. How boring is that!!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

9 responses to “Bucket List”

  1. Stacy @ Moderate Means says :

    That’s not boring, that’s fabulous. Contentment is under-valued…if you have it, celebrate it!

    And I love #4. Never been in Canada at Christmas but I have this vision of a fireplace, piles of snow in the yard and lots of laughter in the house. Perfect Christmas.

    • Broot says :

      Yes, it’s the “ideal” Christmas, isn’t it. My children only know a summer Christmas. Christmas dinner is usually on the BBQ and there are strawberries to eat. For me Christmas means oranges. But the oranges are out right now cuz it’s winter! 🙂

  2. Simone says :

    I don’t think that’s boring either!! I said to my hubby, we should sit down together and make a bucket list… because I think he will think of stacks of cool adevnturous things I haven’t even thought of. most of the stuff on my OWN bucket list is travel-related tho. Germany, Ireland, New York…

    • Broot says :

      Actually, that’s a good point, because my hubby would have a way cooler bucket list than me, too, with lots of good ideas. Although I know that he wants to do a “wonders of the world” trip and believe it or not, I don’t want to go to Egypt or China.

  3. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    I agree, not boring at all!! (and thanks for the link-back!) The bucket list doesn’t have to be fantastical and full of next-to-impossible things. It’s what you want from YOUR life that goes on your bucket list, and yours is pretty terrific. That you’ve already crossed out so many things at your age is pretty nifty if you ask me. That said, I bet you’ll find some pretty cool things to add down the road. These things are never really finished, you know.

    For me, traveling is huge. I traveled a lot growing up, and into the wee years of marriage, but not as much after the Teen and later Wee One came along. Well, not technically true, since we do visit other Canadian Provinces and the U.S. quite often, but as far as traveling goes, it’s not so much the domestic stuff that turns me on.

    A year ago, the recording studio was a far-off fantasy on my bucket list, and since then my group has been in twice! So exciting! I’ve had a few things published over the years, so that one isn’t on my list anymore. Oh, and guess what?? Bloggers are “published” writers, so you’ve already reached that one!

    I agree about the celebrity thing. Big deal – they’re just people, and I have no real desire to meet any of them. Certainly they’d never make it to my list, anyway! That’s for important stuff! 😉

    Loving this discussion, which is going from blog to blog!

    • Broot says :

      Yeah I know we’re technically “published” but it kinda doesn’t feel like it since I only have about 5 dedicated readers of this blog (Stacy, Simone and you being the main readers at the moment) and only the occasional drop in from the SITS group it doesn’t feel the same. But my name’s going to be in print and sent all over NZ. That’s cool. 😉

      I really hope I find stuff to add!! 😉

  4. Rene W. says :

    I think that is wonderful you’ve fulfilled most of your bucket list! You are happy and content – can’t get better than that 🙂 Enjoy swimming with those dolphins!!

  5. Margaret says :

    Don’t you mean how awesome is that?

Leave a Reply

