Underwire is EVIL.

Two days ago I went to an official lingerie store to buy some pretty bras. I only had mom bras before, you know, the boring, nondescript, don’t fit well but are comfy, non-underwire bras.

I’ve never been a big fan of underwire, partly because I have some scar tissue that the underwire never fails to rub painfully.

But all the pretty bras these days come with underwire, and it’s been a few years, so I decided I’d give it another go.

The lady who fitted me was fantastic,  and was able to find me some very pretty bras in my size that actually fit and don’t fall down my shoulders. I like how they make me look – a little less frumpy and a lot more confident and well-put together.

But I don’t like how the underwire feels under my arms, of all places. That’s not where the scar tissue is. As I suspected, the new bras (and a properly fitted bra) don’t rub my scar tissue the wrong way. But under my arms I feel like I’m constantly being poked. And it’s uncomfortable. Especially when I’m typing. When I’m standing it’s not as bad.

This merely enforces my idea that underwire is evil. It is clearly a torture device. Especially since it means these bras must be hand washed.

Unless of course, you know something I don’t?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

11 responses to “Underwire is EVIL.”

  1. Tabitha Blue / Fresh says :

    Oh goodness…. just about everything that is meant to make us look better also hurts! What’s up with that? Sometimes I embrace the evil, you know, when I need a little help… and sometimes, I just don’t care. But I have to say that I am glad it’s there when I need to look a bit more put-together and less I’m-a-mom-and-need-to-be-comfortable-so-I-can-chase-my-kids-around. 🙂

    ~Tabitha

    • Broot says :

      Yeah you’d think they’d find a way to help us look good without the evilness. This whole “looking put together” is new to me. I’m a slob, usually! Thanks for dropping in! 🙂

  2. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    I do, actually 😉 It’s wire, right? BEND it. I have the same problem with bras (DDs are hard to contain and support nicely without underwire) but I’ve found that if you strategically bend the wires near the under arm towards/around your boob, it doesn’t touch your under arm at all. That said, I’m not sure where your scar is, but you can probably do some bending to suit your specific shape/needs.

    I have some gorgeous bras… it’s a fairly new addiction for me! 😉

  3. embejo says :

    Ok so the great thing about the internet is the relative anonymity and we can just jump right on in and discuss bras. I like underwires…I prefer the way it makes me look than non-wired ones. So, even though I’m breastfeeding, and I know it’s very naughty, I’m wearing underwire bras. It does make it a little tricky, but I manage. Thanks for commenting on my blog today.

  4. Sophie says :

    Really? Underwired bras need to be handwashed? Pffffft! Not in our house! Sadly, I’m at the stage of needing underwire or I don’t hold up very well! Still bummer that its so uncomfortable for you!

    BTW, hi, I’m just hopping over from Simoney’s first post linky 🙂 Nice to meet you
    Sophie
    x

  5. MOMSICLE VIBE says :

    Ugh, underwire IS evil. Isn’t everything that “improves” us? You can get some really nice structured bras that don’t have underwire… I have grown accustomed to more structured bras of late (wireful or wireless) because I appreciate the lack of nipple-itus whenever the breeze blows by. One of my daughters favourite words is nipple. Just thought you should know.

  6. Margaret says :

    ah, shit I have learned to embrace that evil underwire. Makes the ole gals looks so much better. I had a woman who fit me show me how to rid yourself of that. i have tried to type it hear and I end up giggling because it makes no sense you need to see me or someone do it. And I will not do it on youtube.com for you. 🙂
    I hope you get it worked out.

    I think plastic surgery to lift the gals is the way I want to go. Now if only a large lottery win would hurry up to assist me!

    • Broot says :

      too bad the lady who fit me didn’t fix it – she had everything else sorted!! I think something like that on youtube would get lots of hits, though!! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  7. Simone says :

    This is funny… what a lot we have in common!!
    I should paste a link to my underwire story here; you would have a good laugh.
    My friend in England found out I was underwire-less and still sporting my NURSING BRAS (with the milk LONG GONE)… and she dragged me into a proper bra shop for girls with big bazoombers. They looked great but I HATEd the feel of them.
    The good news? I persevered and now they are OK. Not as comfy as my old nursing rags, er bras, but bearable. I still have the old rags. I wear them around the hosue when I want to be… happily comfy 🙂

    Ahhh, go on, have a laugh at my expense…
    http://greatfun4kids.blogspot.com/2009/09/size-matters.html

Leave a Reply

