I can’t call him a “Pompous Jackass” to his face, but I’d like to.

We had a meeting at work tonight. There were new people I hadn’t met before.

I give most people the benefit of the doubt. I like to think that for the most part, people are not evil, they have good intentions, and there are good reasons if they appear otherwise.

There has been the odd occasion when I’ve gone with my gut feeling on somebody, though. Like the time when I was working at a very small software company and a man came in to interview for a sales job. He slithered in and I literally reeled back in my chair before he got to my desk (he assumed I was reception. I wasn’t.) I remember saying to my supervisor “I hope <our boss> doesn’t hire him. He reeks of evil!!” Really, I don’t normally make those snap judgements. But my gut said he was trouble.  I don’t know if I was right or wrong, because, perhaps, the boss felt it too, and didn’t hire him.

Tonight, again, I met a man that I instantly disliked. (It’s not always a man. Just these two examples are.) Mind you, he did not radiate evil like the slithering salesman. I talked with him and felt like he had just rubbed my fur the wrong way. I was civil. I did my best to act as friendly and as welcoming as I would with any other newcomer to our meetings. I wanted to call him a Pompous Jackass. I didn’t. I didn’t even mention it to anyone else there.

Just as well. He probably didn’t like me either. We’ll have to agree to disagree later, I’m sure.

At some point, hopefully, I’ll figure out why I had that reaction to him. I hope that my first impression is wrong.

I wonder how often our first impressions are correct?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

8 responses to “I can’t call him a “Pompous Jackass” to his face, but I’d like to.”

  1. Stephanie says :

    I try to trust my gut instincts. They haven’t been wrong yet!

    …stopping by from SITS…

  2. Stacy @ Moderate Means says :

    You have more self-restraint than me. I would have walked out, turned to a coworker and said, “Wow. What a pompous jackass!”

    In fact, I have a new coworker (not a work-closely-with-every-day coworker, just a person who works at my company) that I’m really struggling with. The email communication so far has been strained. I have a meeting with him tomorrow and I’m really dreading it because I can’t let him know how I feel. Ugh.

  3. Simone says :

    Yeah, he probably is. Sometimes it’s not something obvious, just an underlying yuck. Good luck with that!

  4. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Oh I think you can trust your gut on this one, yep… hopefully he’s not someone you have to interact with too often.

  5. saretta says :

    First impressions are often right, but not always. I have become good friends with people who rubbed me the wrong way at first. You never know!
    Visiting you from SITS!

  6. Summer says :

    The gut never lies! Always trust it. When you don’t, bad things can happen! Saw you at SITS and had to stop by!

  7. margaret says :

    my gut instints have never ever been wrong – trust yours.

    The one time I didn’t listen to my “feelings” I paid for it later.

Leave a Reply

