The things I don’t like about New Zealand

Last post I did what I do like… here’s what I don’t like.

  1. Lack of proper insulation, double glazed windows and central heating. There are houses that have this, but I can’t afford them!! And I’ve already explained *why* I hate this.
  2. When you live on an island many many kilometres away from everything but Australia (which is also many kilometres away from everything) sometimes the grocery stores do a poor job of ordering. And you get to the grocery store and say, there’s no peanut butter. None. Why? “We ran out and the next shipment isn’t due for a couple months.” I’ve gotten good at making our own peanut butter. But basically, any food product that is grown or processed overseas is at risk.  Hubby sometimes jokes that there is clearly an embargo or war on when the grocery shelves start looking empty.
  3. Same as above, but for clothes, furniture and anything else made or processed overseas. I want to go back to Canada and go clothes shopping. Walk through IKEA. Go to another furniture store and look at all the beautiful kids furniture. Bonus – it’s cheaper in Canada too. Shipping costs less there, ya know?
  4. The roads are so loud!! They’re all bumpy and wear down car tires (tyres) fast. In the odd place they have a stretch of asphalt and hubby & I look forward to those oasis of calm. But most of the time, long road trips give us headaches.
  5. Constant Tsunami alerts. I know they’re doing it to keep us safe but all the false alarms are giving us a “meh, nothing will happen” attitude like in the “boy who called wolf.”
  6. Sllllllooooowwwww internet broadband. Things that should be instantaneous take minutes to download.
  7. Most new shows get aired here 6 months after they’re aired in North America. Which means, due to Facebook and other online media, I know exactly what’s gonna happen before it does. Even if I’m avoiding the spoilers.  This happens with movies, too.
  8. No graham crackers, cool whip, bisquick, coffee crisp, Dr. Pepper, Jell-O, Kool Aid, Sugar Frosted Booger Bomb cereals (by which I mean anything you aren’t supposed to eat, like Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Captain Crunch, Alphabits, Lucky Charms, etc.) and a myriad of other yummy goodies that can be bought in Canada. Really, we don’t need them and they’re just extra fat around our middles, but you know, hubby & I *miss* them sometimes. Especially the graham crackers and bisquick. Make a lot of recipes easier.
  9. No snow. I’m not a huge snow fan but the other day my daughter asked me if snow was like sand. My children are clearly missing out on a wonderful thing.  That said, NZ is not completely bereft of snow. We’re just too far north to see it.  One day we’ll have to have a road trip to find some. Plus, like hubby says, a BBQ and strawberries at Christmas is awesome, but it doesn’t feel like Christmas without the snow. Probably explains why I start singing Christmas Carols in July, the middle of the NZ winter.
  10. Everything is exponentially more expensive because we’re on a rock in the middle of the Pacific and a lot of stuff has to be shipped here.  Flying anywhere but nationally or to Australia is expensive too!!
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

8 responses to “The things I don’t like about New Zealand”

  1. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Tell you what; you come stay with me with your kids for a visit during the winter, and we’ll follow you home for your summer! 🙂 It’d have to be January or February though – we often don’t have any snow for Christmas either, here in Toronto (area)! Not quite BBQ weather and only imported strawberries, but often green.

    Deal? 🙂

  2. Broot says :

    As soon as we can afford it… deal. 🙂

  3. Kelle says :

    Shall I obtain an Ikea 2011 catalogue and mail it to you? I was giggly when I opened the newspaper yesterday and it fell out of the middle. Don’t feel bad about missing clothes shopping in Canada, it’s all skinny jeans, leggings-as-pants, and 80’s clothing. AGAIN. Bad enough the first time around, but knowing how bad it WAS doesn’t make it better NOW 😉

    • Broot says :

      You want to tease me unmercifully with an IKEA catalogue full of items I cannot have nor buy? Yes please! 😉 LOL yeah I knew it was only a matter of time on the 80’s clothes.

  4. Simone says :

    I am so upset about the 80s comeback. Today I saw a skinny girl in panel jeans. You know the kind with about 6 vertical seams.
    Maybe she found them in her mum’s closet?

    Anyway, I am sorry that our roads are loud.
    But the rest can be solved by living in AUCKLAND!
    Haha, of course you will find groceries unavailable in a small town!!
    Er, except for IKEA. I give you that. Shall we start an internet petition to bring IKEA to NZ?? They have one in Brizzy, so it’s not too far for the chain to stretch, just over the Tasman.

    And did you realise the Jell-O is called Jelly here? I’m pretty sure it’s the same thing.
    Greggs jelly. J-J-J-Jelly. All wibbly wobbly and delicious with icecream.

    And of course what you call jelly, is what we call JAM. So no wonder if you are confused.
    xx

    • Broot says :

      Yeah, I know jelly is Jello but it’s not the same!!! And us Canajuns call it jam, too, not Jelly. That’s the Amurcans. 😉

      I don’t wanna live in Auckland though!! It’s so busy!! I like living semi-rurally except for the above. 😉

      Yes, one day I shall jump over the pond and do some IKEA shopping. Haven’t been over there yet. 🙂

  5. Simone says :

    Oh and there’s good skiing to be had in the central north Island, Mt Ruapehu. I recommend Whakapapa side; better for kids. Mt hubby is there skiing right now. Sigh.

    • Broot says :

      Yes, actually we’re trying to go this weekend. We’re having some lodging issues though, in that everybody else has already had the same idea!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

