Bathroom Renos: Now something is missing.

Can you see what's missing?

See, it's not the toilet.

This is what our bathroom looks like right now. It will stay that way until our new lino arrives. Can you see what’s missing? That’s right, the sink vanity. Good thing we have other sinks in the house!!

The wall needs to be replastered before the new lino goes in. And apparently we have to paint. Hubby wants me to pick a colour. I have no idea.

What paint looks good in a small bathroom on the south side of the house (that’s the dark side, for you North American types) with black and cream lino, where the rest of the house is mainly painted grey and blue?

I hope you know, so I can steal your idea. (I’ll give you credit!!)

*** I would really love to put spaces in-between my paragraphs. WordPress isn’t letting me, all of a sudden. If you know what I’m doing wrong, please let me know!! 🙂
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

8 responses to “Bathroom Renos: Now something is missing.”

  1. Simone says :

    Hey the spaces are showing up fine now 🙂
    Colour…? I think I would continue the darker grey of the half-wall. Yeah, that’s what i would do. Plus save on paint – if you have some leftover that is.
    🙂

    • Broot says :

      Yes that’s because I manually htmlled the spaces in. Stoopid wordpress. I don’t know if we still have some of that paint. The previous owners did that paining. Would have to have a look. 🙂

  2. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Well you could prime and paint out the dark grey – colour would depend on what the new lino looks like. I like sage green, personally. It brightens and soothes. In my monster bathroom I went with Monet’s Waterlilies colours. I had little choice because the tiles are light grey with soft pink and I loathe them!! It’s a massive and expensive undertaking to remove/replace the tiles (the bathroom is 10′ x 12′ and the tiles are half way up the wall and all through the separate shower) so I’m avoiding it like the plague. Oops this is about your reno, not my hated bathroom 😉 What is your new flooring like??

  3. margaret says :

    Okay for this dumb American who reads you – I need to know, What the hell is a lino?
    short for linoleum?

    I am currently renovating a bathroom. I went over all things in there that I am doing and nothing along the lines of a “lino”. I debated whether I should embarress myself and ask you lest you think I was that dumb American who reads you – but what the hell I need to know. What is a lino? short for something? a New Zealand word?

    Now stop laughing at me…..

    • Broot says :

      That’s not a dumb question and I’m not laughing. I do try to translate myself where I know there will be issues. Didn’t think about translating “lino.” Besides, see, you did know what it was… it is indeed short for linoleum. 🙂

  4. Wm says :

    “Silver Sage” by Restoration Hardware. You can see a sample of what it looks like in a windowless bathroom here:

    and here:

    And more samples here:
    http://www.restorationhardware.com/rh/catalog/category/products.jsp?categoryId=cat1017001&navAction=jump

    Just a truly remarkable color. Gray/green/blue, depending on light source, time of day, etc.

  5. misssrobin says :

    Yeah, no help from me on the colors. Or the spaces.

    Guess I’m helpless today.

    But I’ll cross my fingers for you. Will that help?

Leave a Reply

