Buttercream transfer Captain Underpants

It’s the boy’s birthday. He wanted a Captain Underpants cake.

Now, you have to understand that, while I can bake, I’m no perfectionist. If it’s edible, then I’ve done my job. I don’t go for frilleries.

In the past, my idea of a kids birthday cake just involved buttercream icing and maybe some lollies (candy). One year I got fancy and bought those tubes of writing icing so I could actually write “Happy Birthday” on the cakes.

At one point, the Boy asked for a Transformers cake. I bought a little transformer toy and plunked it on top of the icing.

Seriously. I did not even own any piping equipment. Until Thursday, that is.

I tried to talk him out of it, but the Boy insisted. A Captain Underpants cake. And I couldn’t even buy a toy and plunk it on top. So off I went in search of how the heck I was gonna make a Captain Underpants birthday cake.

The bakers here don’t have Captain Underpants tins. (Almost everything else, though!) I couldn’t find anyone nearby with edible paper stuff to use. Finally, I came across the Frozen Buttercream Transfer method. Yikes. $58 dollars at the cake shop later (for piping equipment and colouring – food colouring doesn’t cut it, you know, it has to be colouring gel!!) I was ready to give it a go.

I followed the instructions, and this morning, I had a buttercream transfer that looked like this:

Yay! I thought. But then, I peeled off the paper.

OH NOES!! The outlining didn’t stay stuck to the rest of it!  Oh well, fortunately, since it’s frozen, I can see where the outlines have to go. So I piped them in again.

I piped on a Happy Birthday afterwards, but because I used The Boy’s name I’m not adding it here. 🙂

And there you have it. I did it. A Captain Underpants cake. By no means perfect, but the boy is happy!!

Tags: , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

8 responses to “Buttercream transfer Captain Underpants”

  1. Mommylebron says :

    It looks great! I have butchered many a birthday cake myself. My shame is doubled by the fact that my mom is a professional cake decorator.

  2. Deb says :

    Good for you! I have been threatening my son with a broccoli cake for about 6 months, but I cannot figure out how to do it. Can you believe cake pan makers don’t have broccoli-shaped cake pans? You’d think there would be a huge market for it.

  3. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Great job!! And happy birthday to the birthday-boy!

  4. Kelly says :

    I would be happy with that result – I have no idea where to even start for Elijah’s 5th birthday

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. My very own cake wreck « Craving a Little Perspective - September 17, 2011

Leave a Reply

