Yep, I’m a no-reply blogger. Here’s why!

Time and time again as I roam the blogosphere I come across posts that talk about No-Reply Bloggers as if they are the vilest things that exist online.

Apparently it is extremely horrible that instead of using your email to connect to someone, you have to click to their site and leave a comment there instead. Horrors!!

Now, I’ve read these posts about No-Reply Bloggers and how to fix it. Those instructions work great for people using Blogger.  But you know what?  Not everybody uses Blogger.

So why am I an (evil) No-Reply Blogger?  Because I use WordPress.  Yes, you know, that other excellent blogging platform.  WordPress does not have a little “show email when replying” option. No, it doesn’t. WordPress users are NOT being rude and evil on purpose. We are not the blogosphere “scum” you think we are. We just don’t have that option.

Apparently the other fix for the “No-Reply Blogger” is to sign in with your gmail.com address.  Not everybody has a gmail address, either. I do, but that’s beside the point.

Do you know what *I* don’t like about the gmail option?  The link to my blog doesn’t show up in the email you get.  You have to click my name to go to my Blogger account, and THEN you can click through to my blog. And I’m not allowed to add my Wordpress Blog to my Blogger account, either.  So, two clicks to accomplish what Open ID does in one click. And hey look! My email address is visible right on this page! You can email me after you’ve visited my blog. How fantastic is that?

I much prefer the Open ID option that takes you straight to my blog. I prefer you comment straight on my blog instead of emailing your comment. But hey, the option is there to email me.

Does that make me evil?  Well then I guess I’d better start practicing my evil laugh.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

26 responses to “Yep, I’m a no-reply blogger. Here’s why!”

  1. solodialogue says :

    I did not know there was a whole “no-reply” controversy going on. But I have been plenty annoyed with that gmail thing. Like you, I love the Open ID option. Guess it’s just cuz we’re both WordPress girls!

    • Broot says :

      Yeah, Open ID is goodly. I had two Blogger blogs once. I prefer the WordPress one. This one works much better for me. So yep, we’re WordPress girls! 🙂

  2. Amber says :

    Nah, you aren’t evil. I just like it when people have e-mail addresses if they ask me a question.

  3. Blond Duck says :

    I’m evil too. I prefer to go to people’s sites rather than e-mail them. To me e-mail is lazy….it’s like calling instead of going to a friend’s house. It’s like if you’re going to take the trouble to pop by and see me, I shall come see you…

  4. alison says :

    tell me how you really feel…;) seriously, i must be blogging under a rock or something because i didn’t know all this no-reply angst even existed…just visiting from the sits board…have a wonderful tuesday!

    blessings,

    alison
    stuff and nonsense

    • Broot says :

      Heh it’s not everybody … just every once in awhile one of the Blogger types writes up a complaining post about “no-reply” commenters. Thanks for visiting!

  5. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    I’m about as evil as they come then! 😉

    Personally, I loathe having to email a response to anyone. I get tons of email in a day for my company, and it’s a chore, thanks. Blogging shouldn’t be a chore. I also categorically refuse to follow Google/Blogger’s “we have taken over the blogosphere and you WILL bend to our will and jump through these hoops” rules. They aren’t the boss of me! I have my own domain, and a professionally hosted account. I won’t use a blogger ID (have one, but will not use) and I won’t do the OpenID thing either, for the same reason. It’s a select group of blogger-centric people who are making these waves. They don’t technically understand as much as they think they do, and they figure everyone should do as they do. Sorry, not my style.

    Enable Name/URL, Blogger-users, and I’ll happily leave you a comment when I return the visit from my blog, or come across your blog on my travels. Better yet, don’t use Blogger, and get yourself a proper functional blog with better comment options. Like Broot!

    Wow, I sound bitter, don’t I 😉

    • Broot says :

      Amen Sistah! 😉 LOL about as bitter as me. 😉 So who’s the bigger evil Mastermind? Mark Zuckerberg or the dudes in charge of Google? 🙂

  6. Val says :

    Just curious about word press blogs. How do you know I have left a comment on your post? How do I know you have made a reply to my comment? I could probably look it up some how but if you know I would appreciate you telling me.
    I was very interested by your post about noreply. I have been able to start some lovely friendships with other quilting ladies by having conversations on email that started innocently from replying to their comments. It is like visiting them in their house rather than in a crowded party. It seems a bit pointless to have mail on my computer rather than gmail and every time I click on someone’s ’email me’ my mail software tries to open.
    Now I can see a little box that says ‘notify me of follow up comments’. I think I have to click that if I want to know if you have replied?

    • Broot says :

      Hello! I get an email that tells me someone has replied to my post. The only way you will know if I have replied to your comment is if you click the ‘notify me of follow up comments.’ or you check back. Or if I go to your blog and reply to you there!! I always visit my visitors blogs. 🙂 I don’t tend to reply by email, though. I work a lot at home and I already get too many emails in a day!!

      I know what you’re saying about the email conversations. I just found it frustrating that people were getting cross with me for being a no-reply blogger when it wasn’t something I had done specifically, and that the only way I could fix it was by having a Blogger account, which kinda defeats the purpose of being on WordPress. And as I said, since I work at home, having an email conversation would be distracting.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog today! 🙂

  7. Val says :

    Hi, I looked around and finally found your email contact but I can’t copy and paste it into my email because you have written ‘at’ instead of @ and ‘dot’ instead of .
    You are making it really hard for me to email you because I have to actually write in your address and that makes it easy to make mistakes. I am just trying to give you my perspective.

  8. Val says :

    OK. So spammers copy and paste by hand from lots of sites?

    The email I got told me to come here to read the reply. That’s OK.

    I don’t work with emails any more. I am retired. So my emailing is mostly social. I can’t really see that this public reply thing is any better or worse than the blogger reply on email. Thank you, however for blogging about it. I will be able to blog about it in my circle of friends and maybe even lessen the rift between word press bloggers and blogspot bloggers 🙂
    This all came about because I have a new friend on wordpress and I want to sort out the reply system with her.
    Cheers,
    Val

    • Broot says :

      No, they have bots that look for email addresses in the html of a website. So if I had my email written properly, the bots could find it. Having it written longhand means the bots don’t recognise it as an email address. 🙂

      Glad I could help!

  9. Teje says :

    Hello! How nice you have wordpress! It’s so easy to leave a comment and I’m not no-reply to you! I haven’t still learnt enough of blogging – but I think big reason is all this mixing with blogspot and wordpress. I have chosen everything correct and then someone tells me that I’m no-reply…rrrgggrr. Then I asked from my wordpress friend and she said I’m ok! I have yahoo e-mail and now also gmail (because inet from Finland didn’t like to work with yahoo). I have blogger profil and I changed also gmail address to my blog. Now lieving comments is a little bit easier (usually) and my “Nero” shows next to my comment. Still I don’t understand why the comments comes to my yahoo e-mail and not to the gmail??? All this is too much for my small brains … I prefer to sew and not to think sooooo much these things I don’t know anything about. Sometimes I think it would have been so much easier if I had chosen blogger … but that’s not fair!
    Sunny wishes from Crete! Teje

    • Broot says :

      Comments still go to your yahoo because that’s what you signed up with originally. I get two emails now – one to my main email and one to my gmail address. I felt that way too before I wrote this article, but now I’m glad I’m on wordpress. Much better options!! Soon the Bloggers might be wishing they were on WordPress!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Leanne says :

    I am trying to figure some of this no-reply stuff out my self. Now in your post here you say that one way to fix this is to login with your gmail.com address. Sign in where? I have a wordpress blog and it is hosted at my own .com. are you using wordpress differently. I don’t sign in anywhere.

    Help Please

    • Broot says :

      Hi – you only need to sign in with your gmail.com address on a Blogger hosted blog. In the comments there will be an option to sign in with your google account, instead of wordpress or Open ID. However, there’s still one extra step – you have to go to blogger.com and sign in with your gmail address, then edit your profile. On your blogger profile you must tick the “show my email address” box. Then, when you leave a comment on a blogger.com hosted blog, they will be able to direct-reply to your gmail address. 🙂 Does that make it clearer?

  11. cbeck says :

    >> “Apparently it is extremely horrible that instead of using your email to connect to someone, you have to click to their site and leave a comment there instead. Horrors!!”

    Or just reply to them under the comment they left for you… If they are interested enough to see what someone has to say back, the commenter will return. I haven’t had this happen since I started blogging again, but I used to hate it when I would leave a comment somewhere, and they would come and reply to that comment on the first post of my site – something totally unrelated to what I had written about. And then they get angry when I delete their comment. Bah. What has always made sense to me is this: “We talk about my posts on my page, your posts on yours.”

    Err… My apologies for the rant…

    • Broot says :

      Makes sense, but you’re right, it usually doesn’t happen that way!! I always go back to check my comments or I subscribe to comments. It amazes me how many people don’t do that… especially when they ask questions!!

  12. sewfrench says :

    And now I understand that I am one of *those* no-reply bloggers. I had no idea, I was and no idea why I may or may not want to change it, I’m still pretty new to all this… Now I get it and you are so right.
    Thank you.

    Muahhhhhhhhhahahahahha

  13. nuttysquirrel72 says :

    Thanks for posting this! Someone referred to me as a “no-reply blogger” today and I had no idea what that meant. I searched Google for a solution and it led me to you. Now I know why I’m a “no-reply blogger” – because I use wordpress! Thanks for clearing that up for me!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

