I’m not a Hoarder, but I gotta get rid of this *stuff*

Have you ever looked around your house and all the stuff you’ve accumulated and decided to get rid of it?

We’re doing that ourselves. Since the house is on the market and it’s a buyer’s market, we want to do everything we can to make our house the one that everybody wants.

And then the Christchurch Earthquake made it even more important. Pictures of my friends houses with stuff everywhere, after it was shaken from the shelves, dropped out of cupboards, and fallen out of drawers (and the consequent need for my friends to abandon it all) made me realise that living with less stuff is healthier, too.

The last big cleanout we had was when we moved to New Zealand. I used to be a huge packrat. But the move made me let go of a lot of the childhood stuff I was holding onto. So really, it’s not like my house looks like something from Hoarders. Seven years and two children later, however, I’ve got more stuff than I need.

When I had a serious look around this week, I realised I don’t need *most* of the stuff in my house. I probably use less than half of it in any week, and maybe another one or two percent for special occasions like Christmas, Easter, birthdays, and having dinner parties.

I started picking through all the extras with the idea of getting rid of it. But this thingamabob over here, seriously, nobody’s gonna want. And that one, where do I even start? That thing might be good for a garage sale. That one could go on TradeMe.

It’s such a huge effort.

Then I thought of some of my favourite RPG games, where the characters get to go into the stores and sell their extra stuff. Got an extra Leather Armour +3? No prob. One click, and it’s gone.

Wouldn’t it be fantastic if we could do the same thing? Think of the benefits.

1. You’d know exactly how much a thing was worth.

2. You could get rid of it from the comfort of your own home.

3. You wouldn’t have to worry that you wouldn’t get paid, or that the buyer was some weirdo casing your house.

4. It would be gone immediately!! No packaging, no fuss.

5. You’d have the money right then and there.

Yes, I think this is a fantastic idea. Unfortunately, it’s not a reality.  So I’m just going to have to get rid of this stuff the old fashioned way. Hard work.

What do you do to get rid of your stuff and stopping more stuff from getting in?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

11 responses to “I’m not a Hoarder, but I gotta get rid of this *stuff*”

  1. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Yikes… I feel your pain! And will be doing the same thing over the coming year, because we just bought a house and will be moving around this time next year (or as soon as it’s built… could be a bit sooner).

    I was the epitome of the packrat, but in recent years I’ve gotten much better. We literally got rid of several truck loads of junk after we moved here 8 years ago, and since our new house is… well, NEW, I don’t want it to be cluttered with old junk. I want it to have style and charisma… not crap.

    It’s so freeing to get rid of clutter, and I’m really looking forward to it! Clutter ties you down, and it bogs you down mentally too. (and moving all those extra boxes isn’t great fun either) It’s amazing the stuff we hold onto, isn’t it??

    I’m excited though – mostly I think I’m looking forward to having an office again, and *bliss* 4 bathrooms!!!! I cannot even imagine at this point not hearing “I gotta gooooooo” from the other side of the door. *sigh*

    • Broot says :

      It IS freeing to be rid of clutter. 4 bathrooms? That is indeed bliss. Here in this house we only have one and you can imagine the trouble THAT causes. How exciting that you get a new house!! I’m jealous.

  2. solodialogue says :

    I have a terrible time getting rid of stuff. You know as soon as it’s gone, you will absolutely have to have it and you won’t be able to find it anywhere else! (Murphy’s law). I pretty sure that “hoarder” comment is a bit of an exaggeration given your post on using everything in your cupboards! Hope it all goes well for you. Moving is a big pain in the rear! If you figure out how to get rid of some stuff, please share!

  3. Stacy @ Moderate Means says :

    We do a Mostly Free Sale every year. Best thing we’ve ever done. We go through the house and pull everything we don’t use or need anymore, then pile it in the garage. On a decent weekend, we put up signs and set everything on the driveway. 98% of the stuff is free and we typically sell a few ‘big ticket’ items. It’s so much easier than a garage sale because there is no pricing! And, having the clutter gone is better than money 😉 Anything left goes to Goodwill. What amazes me is the fact that I have a garage full EVERY YEAR. How do I continually collect this stuff?!?!

    Good luck on a clear out plan!!

  4. Amber says :

    My garage currently looks like a room from Hoarders. I’m going through it in the summer. Usually I donate stuff to The Salvation Army or Goodwill. Or the Airman’s Attic, on the base.

    • Broot says :

      Yeah, most of our stuff ends up at a charity of some kind. Hopefully they’re able to do something useful with it! 🙂

  5. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    I like to donate to a battered women shelter also – these women have to start fresh, generally with nothing, and household items are priceless to them. They often have kids as well, so toys and clothes help a lot. Just a thought 🙂 I also deal with freecycle, and donate to Goodwill too. The Salvation Army put my nose out of joint when they got too picky about what they would and would not accept, so they don’t get my donations anymore!

  6. Ginger says :

    I used to be a pack-rat, but after 2 cross-country moves, we learned to get rid of a lot.

    And then we had a kid, and now we’re drowning in kid stuff. I can’t figure out how to deal with that stuff.

    But about once a year we get the itch, and go through the whole house getting rid of stuff. We always talk about doing a garage sale, but always end up donating it somewhere instead. Lazy, but effective!

Leave a Reply

