DDOS attacks suck the big one.

Last Thursday WordPress had a DDOS attack. Denial of Service. Some twits from all over the globe overloaded the WordPress servers apparently because they didn’t like some dude’s political post. They suck.

They suck because they knocked WordPress out for a few hours. They suck because one of them used an IP address that was in the same family as my IP address.ย  They suck because that meant that my IP address was banned from WordPress until today.

That’s right. Since last Thursday I have not been able to access ANY WordPress site. Not one. Not Failblog, not TechCrunch, not any of my friend’s wordpress blogs, not even Freshly Pressed.

I complained of course. It did me no good at all. Not even when I mentioned that I picked WordPress over Blogger to avoid just such a thing.

I was told to get my ISP to change my IP address. It wasn’t worth sitting on hold for that long trying to explain to someone at my ISP why I needed a new IP.ย  Last time I asked them to reset my password they reset something else entirely.

*sigh*

At any rate, thank you to those of you who emailed to ask if I was okay and for those of you who commented on my posts anyway. I appreciate it.ย 

Hopefully now I can get back to blogging, without interruption!!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

4 responses to “DDOS attacks suck the big one.”

  1. Dianna Graveman says :

    Wow–I didn’t hear about this. Glad you’re back in business. Thanks for commenting on my post, too; I’m glad I found you. Informative blog!

  2. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    So glad you’re back!!

    Unfortunately DOS-es and DDOS-es are a fact of life these days, and you’re going to run into them if you spend a lot of time online. My servers get attacked all the time. I have a sysadmin that is amazing at combating them and banning IP addresses is really the only way to go in the end. Unfortunately one person getting stepped on as a result outweighs having the whole thing taken down again and affecting hundreds of thousands. While I don’t like doing it (or having my friend be affected by it!) I completely understand it. I’m glad they released the ban for you, knowing that it potentially opens them up to attack again – that actually makes them pretty decent people if you look at it that way. ๐Ÿ™‚

    If only we could reach through the ether and grab these hackers/attackers by the throat… doesn’t that sound satisfying??

    • Broot says :

      Yeah I know. I’m no internet n00b. ๐Ÿ™‚ Was just working out the frustration of it all, because regardless of how common they are, it sucks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And yes, I like the idea of throttling them. Very satisfying.

  3. solodialogue says :

    Had never heard about this before. Do not look forward to this happening!! I lost internet at my house because I tried to install a wireless amp-thing (obviously a technical term) for my iPhone signal and lost everything until the right tech person reset the software with me over the phone. I was beside myself trying to figure out if I was going to drive to the local Starbucks for wi-fi at 10:30 p.m. to post! This is terrible!! So glad you are back though!! Hooray for that, at least! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

