I just couldn’t wait anymore.

Ambersweet oranges, a new cold-resistant orang...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve been trying to wait patiently.  I know they’re better when I wait.

And I know all the North Americans who read my blog are probably going to say “what?”

They’re not in season. But I was craving one and I couldn’t wait any longer.

I bought an orange.

You’re thinking that’s not a big deal, I know. But oh, it is.

American navel oranges that we get during the summer are cheap enough, I suppose. But they have absolutely no flavour. They get picked a bit green, so that they’ll make the long trip across the ocean in a container still good to eat.

But I just couldn’t wait. I *needed* an orange.

Valencia Oranges

Valencia Oranges on Broot's tree

I should have waited. After all, my valencia orange tree is covered, weighted down by the oranges that will be ready this winter. (It’s Autumn here right now.) And the oranges on my tree are beautiful, tasty, juicy oranges that dribble down the chin and are slices of happiness wrapped in goodness.

Well, okay. They *will* be. In May or June. So I shouldn’t pay any money for oranges at all.  But I couldn’t wait.

And I should have. Because as much as I needed that orange, it just didn’t taste good enough.  At least my craving is sated for now.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

5 responses to “I just couldn’t wait anymore.”

  1. solodialogue says :

    Weird to hear about your reversed season although, I knew it beforehand. I know that feeling. Nothing is better than one fresh off the tree! My favorite are the blood oranges – yum!!

    • Broot says :

      Yum! Yes. We have those around here too. Not in my backyard though! 🙂 I think it’s hard to imagine reversed seasons. Have to experience it to believe it!! Took my body ages to adjust.

  2. Dianna Graveman says :

    Oh, I love oranges when they’re in season. They don’t grow here in the Midwest, but Florida isn’t too far away!

  3. morgan says :

    I can only imagine plucking an orange off your own tree and eating it … hope you can make the wait!

    Visiting from SITS 🙂

Leave a Reply

