What does “Thin” feel like, anyways?

Are you one of the many who is trying to lose weight?

I gave up ages ago, but the issue has reared its head again with my doctor telling me I should.

But I think in order for me to want to work harder, exercise/fitness-wise to lose weight, the impossible would have to happen.

I’d need to know how thin *feels*.  You know how the saying goes? “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels.”  Yeah, okay. I can go with that. But the last time I was thin, (and “thin” is pushing it) I was 15 and in high school.  I don’t remember what it feels like.

I especially don’t know what it would feel like WITH orthotics that mean I can walk a decent distance without limping and favouring my right knee. Or what it feels like without 20 pounds of extra boobs on my front.  (Okay, that IS an exaggeration. I think they took 5 pounds total off when I had my breast reduction).

But hey, give me an hour with a body devoid of my post-baby fat, and the fat that got added on because I found it so difficult to walk with my weird foot.  Let me feel what “thin” feels like.

Maybe feeling “thin” will give me the incentive to push through the pain in my foot and lose the weight I need to lose.

Maybe feeling “thin” will make me think “yeah, this does feel better than everything I eat to self-soothe.”

Or maybe not. Maybe I’m happier with the fat. After all, my fat and I have an understanding. I don’t bother it and it doesn’t bother me.

But to feel “thin” for an hour? I think I’d like to try it.

What do you think? Would being “thin” for an hour be an incentive to lose weight?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

26 responses to “What does “Thin” feel like, anyways?”

  1. Life with Kaishon says :

    WOW! I don’t know. I sort of remember starving myself and being semi thin when my baby was a teeny baby. I feel defeated lately because every time I try to lose weight I fail. Over and over again. I don’t know why it is so flippin hard for me to lose. : (

    • Broot says :

      I think our bodies don’t like being thin. **hugs** I think we need the right motivation before we can. And it has to be healthy motivation, too.

  2. Dianna Graveman says :

    I think being suddenly thin is a definite motivator–not always for the better. I remember when I was first diagnosed with Graves disease, I dropped tons of wait FAST. It was so cool to look in the mirror and see this super thin person that I started exercising even more–although that was the LAST thing I needed to do. I guess that’s how obsessions start.

    Anyway…as you may have expected, time got away from me and I haven’t done the “7 little unknown facts about me” thing that came with my award. My apologies.

    • Broot says :

      Hmmm, yes, I can see how that would be a problem. Something to consider!!

      No worries about the award. It’s only a bit of fun anyways. 😉

  3. Blond Duck says :

    This is a loaded subject for me. Right now I’m underweight according to my friends, family and some of my doctors. To me, I’m not. Since about about killed myself running earlier this year, to me I’ve actually gained weight (when really it was 3 necessary pounds). But I see more body fat, again what several say is neccessary. But it’s a real mind screw because society applauds super thin women, but here in the South everyone is meatier. Plus, running gave me ankle tenditis and really screwed up my feet to where I’m going to have to have custom orthotics. So now, I’m trying to view excercise as joy and not a means to being thin. But it’s hard when EVERYONE talks about wanting to lose weight and get skinny, but then they tell me I’m too skinny. But it’s hard to enjoy dinner when everyone is obsessing about calories, you know what I mean?

    Personally, I wish everyone in the world would stop obsessing about weight. It’s screwing all of us up!

  4. solodialogue says :

    There were years that I was thin and years fat. Currently, have settled snuggly after struggling and giving up, in the neighborhood of chunky. Not that I want to be here but just that I am not ready to move, so to speak. I do ride a lifecycle every day. Before I was sick with the virus that wouldn’t go away, I did about 45 minutes. Now I’m back working my way up. When I wasn’t doing it? I noticed my feet hurt more. It was harder to get up from a sitting position and my hands were very dry and chapped. I was improving my circulation – even though I was not thin. So there are definitely benefits to exercise even if you are not thin…

    • Broot says :

      Yes, I agree. I do as much as I can without hurting myself too badly (and I’m not talking about the good hurt from exercised muscles).

  5. RiA says :

    I hadn’t cared about being fat, and it didn’t bother Curt. But then I started having the health ramifications. My knees were acting up (I’ve had a bunch of surgeries on them in my youth) my back was stiff, I needed a second blood pressure med. SO I joined a gym. My doctor actually would prefer I lose the weight more from exercise than dieting and that I lose it slowly. So I’m trying.

  6. eof737 says :

    It used to matter but not anymore… There are so many other things that make us affirm life… Great points you raise. 🙂
    Eliz

  7. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    I made the decision to be “healthy” rather than thin. Thin isn’t in the cards for me – I’m not built to be thin, and at my age, losing enough to be “considered” thin would make me look saggy and wrinkled. Healthy is what I’m aiming for – that means cholesterol under control, and being comfortable in my own skin. And… clothes. 🙂 I’m getting there though! I lost 40lbs last year (the beginning of Jenn 2.0) and now that spring has sprung I intend to get out hiking a lot more. Food isn’t my issue though – I forget to eat. It’s sitting here in this dratted chair all day!

  8. CK says :

    Hmmm. This is a good question and it got me thinkin. Sometimes I look in the mirror and I don’t like what I see, no matter what I look like. And sometimes I am very happy with my own image. I guess it depends on my mood or schedule (like if I have a formal even coming up or not). I do, however, like feeling energized and able to fit all my clothes (sometimes they are just too tight… like right now.) So I guess, in that sense I like feeling “thin.” If “thin” means that I can move around and fit in my clothes- then yes.

  9. Latte Junkie says :

    I don’t remember, because when I was thinner I thought I was fat. Now that I am fat, I don’t remember being thinner… It’s a vicious cycle!

    I would love to have the hour of thinness. It would remind me that it’s worth it. That I can get over that hump.

    Great post!
    ljx

  10. Amanda says :

    I gain weight easily. I get chubby and was quite chubby before I even had kids. After #2, I had to lose 50lbs! I cut out the major offenders from my diet and went to the gym every weekday (exercise class 2x week). After 4 months I lost all of the weight and I was thin (not enough to me).

    Thin feels like buying really cute clothes and trying them on in delight because you look awesome. Thin feels like sqeezing thru tiny passages without knocking a bazillion things over with my hips. Thin feels like every man (and some women) are looking at me because I am THAT hot. Thin feels like my husband is always wanting me and trying to get me in public. Thin feels great. Losing weight is the biggest motivator to losing more weight, at least for me. I now have 10 pounds to lose again and I shiver when thinking about how we want 1 more kid, gaining all that weight again?! That is scary and also motivation to workout more.

    Please know that you are beautiful on the inside, once this is realized and respected, your body will do what you tell it to.

    Amanda, joyfully stopping over from SITS

  11. Simone says :

    I’m with Jenn at “That Blog” on this one… healthy rather than thin.
    And no I don’t think an hour of being thin would be enough to motivate me! It would only make me sad I’m sure.
    Just comfy in my skin, that’s what I want but I am rather too lazy even to get there.

    GREAT post. In fact I’ve just read from the top and Loving ALL your posts, girl!
    You are on a blog ROLL!

  12. MaryMeg says :

    I think there are different things being conflated. Thin is different from fit or healthy. Eercise makes you healthier, and losing weight has health benefits, but you can be thin and less fit than someone who isn’t skinny.

    So exercise is good. But unfortunately, apparently it’s not the best way to get thin. Cutting down on food seems to be the bet way to drop weight, but exercise is needed to keep it off. Which is good since it’s also the best way to get and stay healthy. (I can dig up references if necessary.)

    Speaking for, I feel way better when I weigh less, and find it easier to exercise too. I also tend to feel better when I am used to eating only until slightly hungry instead of more than slightly full. The transition to that state is always a hard one for me though.

  13. mirasaza says :

    I’ve been thin most of my life…until I hit about 40, I noticed, I started to put weight on…first 10…not so bad, then about 20 pounds, over the last several years. I hate it. I can’t get used to looking at myself, like this. I don’t look good chubby, so for once in my life, I really sympathize with people who struggle with their weight! It sucks! I finally decided, I need to take control of my life…part of the problem was I was stress eating and stress baking. I started exercising a couple months ago, I’m not quite where I want to be still, but I do have to say, I don’t mind looking in the mirror again, and the best part about being thin is, it feels to good to be comfortable in your clothes, not to mention look good. It is true, nothing does taste, and good a thin feels.

    For me it was just life style change, I allow myself to have junk food on the weekends, but I try to eat really healthy during the week. Lots of fruits and veggies, and very little carbs, and I’m keeping active everyday. And if I want, I treat myself on the weekends. If there is a party or dinner party, I go and have a good time…and then the next day, I try to get back to my healthy routine. Keeping track of calories really helps, and there are so many good sites, and apps that help with this. The big test will be, if I can maintain this, it’s only been a couple of months, but it seems doable…Good Luck!

  14. Em says :

    I’m thin. But I still feel like i’m not thin enough. I mean it feels good to get up and have a bunch of energy, and it’s really eassy for me to walk very very fast. but I still feel fat…

    • Em says :

      oh and by the way, i’m the ‘fit thin’ kind of women. not the ‘I eat everything and i’m still thin’ kind of girl, unfortunately haha!

Leave a Reply

