There’s already too much sugar in my house!

It can’t be nearly Easter already. Seriously. It was just Christmas. And Hallowe’en.

My children don’t need no stinkin’ candy.  Observe:

My children's Easter basket from last year. Picture taken today.

Notice it has candy canes, chocolate Santas and Hallowe’en lollies. I think near the bottom there are still some chocolate eggs from last Easter. This is the accumulation of several holidays where my children have been spoiled by well-meaning grandparents.

And now you’re telling me I need to go get them some more? Really?

I’m torn between handing them the bags and telling them to go to it (and therefore being the Mum every Dentist loves to hate) or continuing to do as I do now, and let them have the lollies only occasionally (which of course, is the sensible Mum thing to do). But then Easter will fill these bags up to the brim again!!

The Easter Bunny has been told not to get them much in the way of lollies. I’m such a spoilsport. But the Easter Bunny will likely listen to me.  The grandparents will not.

Meanest Mummy Ever. That’s me.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

17 responses to “There’s already too much sugar in my house!”

  1. solodialogue says :

    Haha! I so know how this is! But – I’m just as guilty. I get the candies for every “holiday” and my son regulates his own consumption believe it or not. He will not eat too much. That only means that we still have candy from all those holidays too – I’m not a mean mommy – but a bad one because I end up throwing the left over candy out!! Think of all those starving children! Really -really, I will try not to get my son too much this year but even if I do, maybe hubs and I can help him out without wasting it! 😉

  2. JennTheGamerMom says :

    Gosh, the Easter Bunny usually brings us toys and just a few bits of candy (we go for gelt)

  3. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    I buy a SMALL amount of chocolate – only chocolate – and they each get a spring outfit or shoes or something. We don’t “do” Easter because we’re not even remotely religious. So, like Christmas, it’s a family-oriented affair with some gifts involved. Chocolate doesn’t last long in our house, and if I find candy from another occasion (like Hallowe’en) weeks after the date, it gets thrown out immediately.

    • Broot says :

      I wish I could throw it out. But that would be noticed. I think they count the things. 😉 I like the idea of a spring outfit (except of course here it would have to be Autumn.)

  4. kat says :

    Easter Bunny only gives toys, puzzels and books. This year will be added edible treats because of too many toys, puzzels and books; but, the only edible treats coming into the easter basket is real fruit gummies.
    All grandparent chocolate that doesn’t get eaten (which is almost all of it) gets melted down for baking (cookies and granola bars, mostly). I didn’t have to buy baking chocolate for about a year when I first thought of doing this. Mind you, the little person in my house doesn’t yet notice or remember the candies he gets…

  5. Donna says :

    Let the kids enjoy a couple of hours in the afternoon. The downside of that, they will want it every afternoon! Being mommy is not easy!

  6. Jade @ No Longer 25 says :

    Wow, I thought that was a lot of candy for Easter, then I realised it was a current photo. We usually get a couple of Easter Eggs each, but they never last long! I’m impressed that you haven’t raided them yourself, that’s probably what I would do.

    Have a lovely weekend,
    Jade

  7. CK says :

    OH MY GOODNESS! I can SO relate here! I was just at the store today and saw all the candy everywhere. And I am kind of dreading the TWO easter parties we have this weekend… I hope my kids don’t OD on candy that will be available! My children are still very small and I don’t help them at all in the easter egg hunts. We go slow, we take our time and if we only find two easter eggs, they are happy with that and I am happy with that, too!

  8. eof737 says :

    I didn’t know you go trick-a-treating for Easter candy… give them a few, it won’t hurt. My mom hid the candy and it did us no good. 🙂
    Eliz

    • Broot says :

      LOL no, we don’t go trick-or-treating for Easter. Those bags are from the well-meaning grandparents. They arrived full of Easter candy last year. 🙂 I have been letting them have a few more in the last few days. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Who needs the Easter Bunny? | Craving a Little Perspective - April 20, 2011

Leave a Reply

