I have no idea what’s going on this weekend.

My first clue was on Tuesday. I called the hairdresser to ask whether she could fit us in that afternoon. Both my children are looking wooly-headed. The hairdresser said no, she was too busy with the short week, and all.

The clue didn’t work. I was blissfully ignorant.

Today (Thursday), the clues were fast and furious.

I called the doctor for an appointment for The Boy. When I innocently asked if there was room today for the doctor to see my Boy, the medical receptionist cackled. Cackled. As if I cracked a very funny joke. “Not today!” So I asked (still all innocent) if there was room tomorrow.

The whoops of laughter were a bit disconcerting.  Never mind, we went in to see the duty doctor instead (walk-in clinic for you North American types.)

You’d think I would have clued in by then, wouldn’t you?

We saw the doctor and got The Boy’s prescription. Went to the Chemist (Pharmacy – see, I’m translating!!) and the line up was out the door. I sighed in impatience and made the children walk with me the extra block to the Chemist up on main street. Gave my prescription to the chemist at the counter and she gave a bark of laughter, too.

“Twenty minutes, if you’re lucky!” she grimaced.  (I know that seems like a short wait to my North American friends, but here in my small town, seriously, that is an ETERNITY.)

So we went for a walk, and admired all the Easter Eggs in the shop windows. Admired all the Easter decorations in the $2 Shop. And I marvelled aloud at how busy it was downtown.

Yes, I was a bit slow on the uptake today.

Went back to pick up the prescription and the proprietor was behind the Chemist counter.  She rang up our purchase and said “Well, you’d think the world was going to end tomorrow, wouldn’t you?”

“No kidding!” I agreed. “What’s the story?”

She looked at me askance. “Good Friday?” She said with that tone of voice. You know the one.  How-Stupid-Are-You-To-Not-Know-It’s-Good-Friday-Aren’t-You-A-God-Fearing-Citizen? After all, in my small town, if you throw a rock, you hit a church, not a Starbucks.

In my defence, I think I recovered quickly. “Oh yes, of course! Ha ha.”  Everything was suddenly clear. People were rushing around, going to the doctor, getting their shopping done because all the stores are closed tomorrow!!

Never mind that they’re open on Saturday.  All those people might starve if they are deprived from their shopping for a day!!

You’d think, after all that, I would have clued in.

Nope. In all my wisdom, I then decided I would go to the mall after dinner.

Yes, that was insane, too.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

14 responses to “I have no idea what’s going on this weekend.”

  1. Amanda says :

    Wow. I really had no idea or inkling that it is Good Friday tomorrow. Sure I know that Easter is on Sunday, but obviously I only know that because of candy and children. I feel you there, now I understand what is going on in OUR town. LOL! Thanks for the clue-in!

  2. bluecottonmemory says :

    I love my hair-dresser. She became my hairdressed 8 years ago when my littlest one used his older brothers electric razor to shave a path down the center of his head. My second son wants to marry her – and she took great care of me the day of my oldest son’s wedding. She is like family:) She always finds a way to make time for us!
    The dr’s office? I just take mine to a clinic now. Much quicker and easier for all those little things!

    Have a great weekend!

    • Broot says :

      Our hairdresser is good like that too but she really was way too busy for us this week. We made an appointment for next week, though, so it’s okay.

      We like going to the clinic too but it is a greater distance from us. And usually when I call the Doctor they have room. It was just an Easter issue! 😉

      Thanks, hope you had a great Easter, too!

  3. Grace says :

    Hairdressers and doctors close there on Good Friday?? Wow. Apparently I live in a nation of heathens!

    • Broot says :

      Yeah, everything closes here on New Year’s Day, Good Friday, Easter Sunday, and Christmas. Took a bit of getting used to when we moved here!

  4. eof737 says :

    Yes, it is rather interesting how humans tend to operate in hordes during certain times of the year… I must say that I took the day in stride and didn’t rush out for anything… Well, I was flying for 7-8 hours and perhaps was too pooped to do much. 🙂
    Happy Easter weekend!
    Eliz

    • Broot says :

      I might highlight it on my calendar for next year so I can plan and stay well away. For some reason it just didn’t stick in my head this year!! 🙂 Happy Easter to you, too!

  5. solodialogue says :

    I’m completely with Grace! I live in a land of heathens!! If it makes you feel any better, I was silly enough to stick around home most of the morning and thought I’d go to the mall for a little light afternoon shopping – yeah, I forgot that a lot of our stores are closed on Easter… It was packed, so despite pleas that I stay from my 4 year old shopping companion, we left. I couldn’t find a parking spot! I know I’m just going to do the same thing next year. Who am I kidding? 😉

    • Broot says :

      We did that on Saturday morning (cuz we’re suckers for punishment). There was no parking, so we left too. Found somewhere else to go!! I’m going to do my best to avoid it next year for sure. (I already do for Christmas!!)

  6. sharde says :

    realistically, i knew sunday was easter. but i had no thoughts in my mind that had anything to do with it throughout the week. not until today when i realised i have no family or friends to hang out with tomorrow! boo!

  7. Donna says :

    I wish my arms were longer. I would have taken care of those wooly heads. Malls are something up with which I cannot put. Meh. I am one of the few females who can’t stand to shop. Hoping today’s a better day. ❤

    • Broot says :

      I wish your arms were longer and the Death Tube wasn’t so scary, too.

      I honestly don’t know why I bother going to the mall, really. Oh right. The Small Things like it.

Leave a Reply

