Questions and Answers ( a meme)

I was tagged by Latte Junkie at Ramblings of a caffeine addict to do a Q&A meme.  Latte Junkie is an imported Kiwi too. How exciting is that?

So here goes:

Which living person do you most admire, and why?  
Tie between my mother and my mother-in-law.  They are amazing women who somehow just *know* when to listen, when to give advice, when to shut up, when to offer help, and when to put their hands in their pockets.  One day, I will learn this secret. Yes I will!

When were you happiest?
Now. No past tense here. I live a comfortable life. I am loved. I am free to pursue my hobbies, and I’m enjoying watching my children grow.

What was your most embarrassing moment?
Hmmm. Too many to list. We’ll go with walking into the glass wall at the Calgary Zoo. Right beside the exit door. Yeah.

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought? 
Hmmm. Our car I think.

What is your most treasured possession?
My family. I’d go crazy with panic if I thought something was going wrong with them. But if you insist on a *thing* then probably the family photographs?

Where would you like to live?
I ask myself this question all the time. I’m forever caught between wanting to be back with my family and friends in Vancouver or wanting to stay here with my new-found friends and my intrinsic pleasures.

What’s your favorite smell?
Fresh air.

Who would play you in the film of your life?
Janeane Garofolo if she put her weight back on.

What is your favorite book?
JRR Tolkien’s Hobbit and Lord of the Rings series. Although some days I’m just as likely to mention one of Naguib Mahfouz‘s books. Easier to tell you that I love escapist fiction or fictional stories that are not set in my own culture. I also spend a lot of time playing Serendipity in the Non-Fiction.

What is your most unappealing habit?  
 Snoring? 

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?
I think I’d be a fantastic hobbit.  Oh wait… is this a kiwi question or a North American question? Because “Fancy Dress” in New Zealand means a costume. But in North America that means dressing up like you’re going to the Opera, right? I love wearing pretty dresses. Probably because finding one that fits my bowling ball frame (short and stout) is difficult.

What is your earliest memory? 
Being in Japan for my aunt & uncle’s wedding. I was nearly 3.

What is your guiltiest pleasure? 
Chocolate. I hate the stuff.

What do you owe your parents? 
Pffft. Nothing but love. They had it EASY with me, despite all their complaining.

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?
I refuse to answer this publically on the grounds that it will incriminate me.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?
My hubby and my children.

What does love feel like?
It feels different to every single person based on their childhood, their culture, their needs, their wants, and their life experiences.

What was the best kiss of your life?
Don’t remember. How horrible is that?

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
eh? (You can move the Canuck to New Zealand but you can’t take away the accent)
Pleased to meet you, “Hungry,” my name is Mummy.

What is the worst job you’ve done?
Tie between the pizza factory and the KFC-like fast food place.

If you could edit your past, what would you change?
Would have insisted more strongly that my doctor figure out why my knee hurt (it was my foot!!) and would have told my teenage self about the wonders of waterbottles.

What is the closest you’ve come to death?
The time my 8-year-old self woke up at 3am, discovered Santa had been and gone and woke up my brothers?  When my parents had only just got to bed at 1am? Ha. Seriously, if I have, I haven’t known it, thank goodness.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Moving to and adjusting to life in NZ.

When did you last cry, and why?
Within the last month. Hormone issues.

How do you relax?
reading, computer games.

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?
A piano. I need it for stress release.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?
Go with the flow and make the best decisions you can based on what you know in the moment.

Now, I’m supposed to tag people so that they can do this too, but I’m not going to this time. If this meme amuses you enough, do it, and let me know in the comments and I will come and have a look. But if memes aren’t your thing, no worries. 😉

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

18 responses to “Questions and Answers ( a meme)”

  1. bluecottonmemory says :

    I cannot wait for the Hobbit movie to come out. My teen is reading Lord of the Flies in school – and I just wonder, why couldn’t it have been LOR? Why?

    • Broot says :

      Lord of the Flies is required reading, isn’t it? I remember having to read it for Grade 9, I think. Lord of the Rings is considered University Level Reading. Go figure!! Maybe just do what my nanny did for me, and just leave it out conspicuously with a general hint that it might be a good read. 😉

  2. Amber says :

    Awesome 🙂

    I’ve walked into glass walls. And doors. So I know how it goes..

  3. Mary @ Room Polish says :

    Thank you for visiting my blog on my SITS day! I love your answer to “when were you happiest…” You’re right—own it in the “now!”

  4. Caren with a "C" says :

    I’ve got to learn that balance of when to but in and when to not, like your mother and MIL too.

  5. Blond Duck says :

    I snore and drool!

  6. eof737 says :

    Good job… We have some things in common; Japan, Chocolate, and J.R.R Tolkien. 🙂
    Eliz

  7. solodialogue says :

    Oh, you are a good bloggy friend to answer all these questions!! You do a great interview and I love your answer to the question of when you were happiest. What a lucky one you are to have such a great mother in law. I don’t know too many people who would go with that answer!!

    Oh, and btw, I hate that chocolate too (ha!) 😉

  8. Latte Junkie says :

    Thanks so much for answering the questions! I really like reading what people think and get to know you better.

    I think that your life lesson is one that I need to finish learning as I am still at the point where I judge my past decisions based on what I know now. Which is not fair or healthy.

    I have a friend who is a Canuck… She has moved to Wellington with her Kiwi family and really misses Canadian company – I will send her to you in bloggyverse and she may contact you 😀

  9. Corettas Elegant Events says :

    Ok, the answers to what you owe your parents and the closest you’ve come to death had me chuckling. Could you have been that EASY if you were waking them with only 2 hours sleep?? Lol.

Leave a Reply

