Walking to school in the pouring rain

This post is in honour of Mother’s Day and my mother who insisted I walk nearly 5km (3mi – that’s one way, by the way) to school even when it was uphill both to school and back, even when it was pouring so hard the raindrops were bouncing off the road, and the snowpiles were up to my knees and it was well below freezing outside.*

Ten reasons why I make my children walk to school in the pouring rain:

1. Walking is good for them and the environment.

2. It takes us about 3 minutes to walk to school and about 7 minutes to drive. (Gotta love pass-through alleyways!)

3. The way the parents drive around here in the rain? Sheesh. It’s safer to walk.

4. Splashing in puddles. ‘Nuff said.

5. Justifying the purchase of cute rainjackets, matching umbrellas, and gumboots.

6. My mother made me walk to school in the rain AND the snow. And I had a lot farther to walk. (See first paragraph.)

7. So the children can help their class win the Feet First competition (Class with the most people walking/riding their bikes/using the bus gets a prize at the end of the year.)

8. When they’re older, the children will have a true “When I was your age, my mother made me walk to school in the pouring rain!” story to tell that will shock and awe their children and grandchildren.

9. I can honestly claim the title “Mean Mum” and wear it with pride.

10.  Just by walking down the street with my kids in our rain gear I can make all the other parents either feel guilty they aren’t doing it too, or think that I’m insane. Either’s good. 😉

* My mother did that despite spending the majority of her school years living on a delta plain (very flat, no hills), across the street from her school, in a city that rarely saw more than a couple of centimetres of snow every year. Yeah, my “walking to school” stories trump her stories any day.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

13 responses to “Walking to school in the pouring rain”

  1. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    You forgot to mention that you were barefoot, and the snow was up to your waist 😉 Isn’t that how it goes? That’s how my father tells his walking to school stories. I had quite a hike too, but I do remember my mom driving us when the weather was nasty.

    Our kids don’t know how great they’ve got it… but in the same breath, I wonder if our generation wasn’t healthier as kids, and got a LOT more exercise.

    • Broot says :

      Well unfortunately that’s where my mother chimes in with “SHE HAD BOOTS, She just didn’t USE them!” and actually, in some parts it WAS up to my waist. lol

      They had a thing on TV last night about that – they threw a family in the UK back to the 1970s without all the gadgets and the kids of course had nothing to do but play outside. They talked about how that was better than having them at home with the electronics. But the kids said they were bored.

  2. Blond Duck says :

    I hope you had a great Mother’s Day!

  3. JDaniel4's Mom says :

    I love ten! I would be splashing in the puddles too.

  4. solodialogue says :

    I still need to see this uphill both ways map… And how are the children liking this mean mum? I’m getting the feeling it could be loads of fun as long as they are not soaking wet all day at school. 😉

    • Broot says :

      Well, I’ve tried to show someone a picture of it before but you really can’t see it on the map. It’s like this – My house and the school were parallel on the side of a hill. However, I could not walk straight South to get to it. There was a very busy highway and farmlands in the way. So, I had to do a one mile hike east up a steep hill. A one mile hike South on the flat at the top of the hill. A one mile hike West down a steep hill. Reverse it to go home – East one mile Up a steep hill, North one mile on the flat of the hill, then West one mile down a steep hill. And going the other direction (down the hill, across, and up the hill to school was even worse!!)

      The children are resigned to their fate. No, not soaking wet all day, fortunately. They wear their raingear!!

  5. Betsy Prujean says :

    I’ve only just found you (through KMB) & am dropping by to let you know that I have nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger award! Have a look at your nomination here: http://skymum-pursuitofhappiness.blogspot.com/2011/05/longest-post-in-history-of-blogging-my.html

  6. cbeck says :

    “When they’re older, the children will have a true “When I was your age, my mother made me walk to school in the pouring rain!”

    Oh, that made me laugh! I think that is why my mother did this to me. 🙂

  7. meatcurtainman says :

    wtf

Leave a Reply

