What I did for me today

I woke up with a purpose this morning.

After the children had gone to school, I attacked my dresser and closet and removed everything that didn’t fit for one reason or another. Some shirts were just not long enough (I like them to cover my tummy completely). Some were much too huge (the well-meaning mother-in-law sometimes overestimates my size). Some clothes I just don’t like and won’t wear (like any shirts that come right up to my neck. Hate that.). Some pants were just not long enough or too long (it sucks being 5’2″ sometimes).

The pile on my bed of clothes I don’t wear was huge. Monstrous.

My closet was near empty, and so was everything but my pajama drawer.

So with that, I went shopping!

It must be said here that I really don’t do clothes shopping. I never have. I’m one of those strange females that has to be dragged out to buy clothes. Normally when I am convinced that I must go looking, I walk through the racks with a sneer or with disgust. It’s usually too old, too young, too something for me. And I never try them on.

But last night, just before I drifted off to sleep, I made a decision.  Today, I was going to find some clothes that a) Fit  b) Looked reasonably decent on me and c) didn’t cost hundreds of dollars. And I would try everything on. Everything.

Lo and behold, one of the upscale department stores was having a sale. Yee-ha!

I didn’t quite try everything (some was just too horrible to contemplate) but I did try on lots and lots and was pleasantly surprised by some.

I ended up with one pair of jeans (which I had hemmed to proper length), 2 long-sleeve everyday tops, 2 knit tunics, and another nice tunic. (Don’t forget it’s nearly winter, not summer, here!!) I went on to buy a pair of track pants and some socks. Needed the track pants for work (hey, when you work with kids, you need something that can get stained with paint!).  This is historic for me. Even my hubby is impressed.

And I only spent just over $200 NZD.  Yay sales!!

And um, I err, well, that is, I kinda, maybe, possibly liked it.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

16 responses to “What I did for me today”

  1. Grace says :

    I’ve been trying to clean out my closet for months now. Months! It’s still not done. And I am also one of those unusual chicks who HATES shopping. If I MUST shop, I do it on the internet and have everything delivered to me. Even that is torturous. Anyway, congrats on your successful purging and shopping excursion!

    • Broot says :

      Thank you! Yes, I do shopping on the internet, too. I nearly didn’t clean out my closet. Sometimes you just have to force yourself to do it. 🙂

  2. kat says :

    Congrats on “What Not to Wear” ing yourself! You must feel great about the new wardrobe you like and looks good on you!

  3. solodialogue says :

    I need to do the same with my closet. I’m also 5’2″. (Well I was once – who knows now…) I say – pictures for all of us! I want to see! (I LOVE shopping -even when I get nothing! – Yes, it’s an illness…) 🙂

    • Broot says :

      Somehow, I knew you were going to say that about pictures, Karen!! I’ll see what I can do. Perhaps I can put them up on FB for you. 🙂 It’s not that exciting though, honest!

  4. Blond Duck says :

    Hooray! Good for you!

  5. Lizbeth says :

    Why have I not found you sooner?!? 🙂 Love your blog!

    I’m one of those girls that can’t stand shopping either! I think my jeans are from the mid 90’s! I’m going to be in trouble when the bottoms wear thin…

  6. Melissa says :

    Hey there! I found you from the Featured Blogger linky party at SITS!

    I totally need to clear out my closet too. I’ve been working on my son’s closet, and since he is a baby his clothes need to be gone through quite frequently. Usually my desire to clean out closets only goes so far. I really don’t like shopping either! Maybe because I feel like nothing fits and I’m really picky. When I do find something I like I usually buy a couple!

    Anyway, hope you’ll check out my blog if you get a chance. I’m a newbie over here! Thanks!

    knit purl baby

    • Broot says :

      Thanks for stopping by! I visited your blog and tried to leave a comment but Blogger still isn’t behaving. I’ll be back again later! 🙂

  7. Grams says :

    I am planning to have the same kind of cleaning out of clothing as soon as school’s out for summer. Congratulations on that huge step!

    Thanks for visiting on my SITS day. Come back any time. You’re always welcome.

  8. Lindsay says :

    What a wonderful ‘me’ day! There aren’t many things I love more than cleaning out my closet and replacing it with new things. Congratulations on a successful shopping trip!

Leave a Reply

