Five Time Management Tips

Many of my offline friends ask me how I manage to juggle 7 different work hats, plus my Mom hat and my housework hat without getting snowed under. I’m going to do a presentation for them, but thought I’d give it a practice go here so you can tell me if I’m missing anything or need to go into further details.  So without further ado, I give you:

Time Management Tips, by Broot

1. Get a good calendar or diary and use it! I personally prefer the FlyLady calendar because of the big squares – lots of room to write lots of stuff. My calendar is always choca (“CHOCK-ah” as they say in NZ – it means very full!). But the key thing is to find one that works for you and use it.

2. Priority lists!!  Having a big list is good, but it really helps to have a smaller priority list to work on. Means you get the important stuff done, AND you get to cross stuff off!

3. If you’re on Facebook, turn the games off.  I took the step of turning off all Facebook Application Platforms after years of being stuck on the computer chained to the games. No platforms means less viruses, and more time to actually connect/network with people!!

4. Know your most productive time of the day and use it to your advantage.  Plan to do work at your most productive time. I have no problem working with the parents and children in the morning, because that’s physical and verbal work, not paperwork. There is absolutely no point, however, in trying to get me to do any paperwork, phone calls or other problem solving work before 11am. After lunch and right before dinner are my most productive times – and that’s when I get my paperwork, bills, housework and writing done!

5. If you need uninterrupted space to work, then make it so.  Turn off the TV, turn off the phones, turn off the music, turn off all your instant chat programs, and keep your email client closed. Any distraction when you’re “in the zone” puts you back about 30 minutes while you get back into your groove. Seriously. One 2 second distraction will take you 30 minutes from which to recover.

6. (BONUS) Learn to say “No” when you are overcommitted. I limit myself to 3 night meetings a week, prioritise for the most important meetings, and say “No!” to the rest. I do the same thing for my field work – no more than 3 mornings in a week. The other days are for paperwork and housework and anything else I need to get done!

And that’s really it in a nutshell. I could mention procrastinating (at which I am extremely proficient!) but that’s a whole ‘nother post entirely!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

10 responses to “Five Time Management Tips”

  1. Will Blesch says :

    I have to say that I completely agree with this time management list you’ve posted. I find that I cannot get anything done in a timely fashion if I have my E-mail client or Facebook opened up. That, and the cell phone.

    If I want to be productive, a lot of those things must be turned off for sure!

  2. mommylebron says :

    I love my planner and my lists! I make one list and just add to it and scratch off as a go. To prioritize I use a highlighter to spot light important things in different areas (ie pink for school, blue for house, green for blog etc). I also have a daily schedule for me and the kids that I try to stick to as much as possible.
    I agree about Facebook, I also block all apps there and I’m grateful Twitter doesn’t have them!

  3. Tina says :

    Great ideas! I really stink at time management! 😛 Thus my post on the tooth fairy’s delay at our house! Ha! By the way, thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog! 🙂

    • Broot says :

      Hope they help!! Hey, even with these tips I’m fallible. As I mentioned, the tooth fairy has been late at our house, too.

  4. Amber says :

    Great list.

    I’ve learned to say no, thank goodness.

  5. Blond Duck says :

    I’m scared to get on facebook because I’ve heard it’s such a time suck.

Leave a Reply

