Spinning plates

Like Spinning Plates

Image by Jameson42 via Flickr

There’s an analogy I know about a woman spinning too many plates in the air. 

It says something to the effect of – “One has to ask, if there are that many plates spinning, which one will be the first to drop, and when?”

And the answer is usually that the “housework” plate, the “husband/partner” plate, or the “children” plate goes first. Followed closely by the “healthy eating” plate.

Not the “work” plate, or the “friends” plate, or even the “computer” plate. Strange, isn’t it?

This week, my “housework” plate has smashed on the floor.  So has the “healthy eating” plate, although that may have a lot to do with my visit to the American Foods shop in Auckland, where I picked up some Pop Tarts, Twinkies, Jolly Ranchers, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, and Doritos (Cool Ranch).

I’m feeling overwhelmed. But as I mentioned on Facebook, not stressed.  I have learned that I can choose what to deal with and when. I’m comfortable with my priority list.   It’s what to put on my priority list that’s overwhelming me at the moment!

Thank goodness I am at home tomorrow. My first stop will be to clear my head. I do that by cleaning my house. Something about setting everything straight in my environment helps me set everything straight in my brain as well. After that is done, I shall create a new priority list, and work my way through it.

I’m not in a dark tunnel, and my plates are still spinning. I just need some time to clear my head so that the “overwhelmed” feeling will disappear.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

11 responses to “Spinning plates”

  1. susan says :

    i understand ‘overwhelmed’ only too well…funny how the housework plate is often the first to fall huh!
    a friend of mine says we need to learn to ‘sit down on the inside’ – i think that’s the best place to start on those wobbly plate days!
    nice blog:)

    p.s. you can really buy reece’s peices here? awesome!!!

    • Broot says :

      I like that thought. “sit down on the inside!” Will try that today.

      Yes, you can!! They are often in independent dairies if you look, but the place we went to is called Martha’s Backyard and if you email them and ask for their price list, they will send that to you. Then you tell them what you want and they will ship it to you!! 🙂 (After you’ve paid, of course.)

  2. Janet White says :

    Overwhelmed? I think all women can relate. Thanks for stopping by my blog this morning with SITS! I run to my craft room when the world gets crazy…..aahh.

  3. solodialogue says :

    I hate that feeling! Usually, by Fridays, I find my housekeeping plate has been smashed and trodden on repeatedly!! I always start with laundry to pick myself back up again! A little housework with a good emptied bag of Doritos is a good place to start!! 😉

    • Broot says :

      My lovely hubby did the laundry while I was away this weekend so that bit is already done. However, the childrens’ bedrooms have exploded and I think my living room is hiding under the explosion!! 😉

  4. Grace says :

    I don’t have a housework plate. Never have.

    It is hilarious to me that you find Pop Tarts and Doritos exotic. They’re staples of my diet. And around these here parts, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are known as REE-SEE Cups. Another fine dietary choice. 🙂

    • Broot says :

      Well, they’re just not things that are commonly sold here in New Zealand. As a matter of fact, there is a lot of things available in the States that Kiwis have never heard of (you should see what Martha’s Backyard has for us poor souls who feel deprived!)

      For my hubby and me, the Pop Tarts and Doritos and Reese’s are long lost treats, so it’s kinda nice to indulge a bit! Although I should clarify – we can buy Doritos here. Just not “Cool Ranch” flavour. 🙂

  5. changingmoods says :

    I’m not in a dark tunnel, and my plates are still spinning. I just need some time to clear my head so that the “overwhelmed” feeling will disappear.

    Take all the time you need. That priority list is a good idea.

  6. eof737 says :

    I hope you find the balance you need… We all do actually and then we have to let a few things sit for a while. 🙂

Leave a Reply

