Dear worthwhile cause and/or charity

Dear worthwhile cause and/or charity,

Yes, your cause and/or charity sounds like a worthwhile thing to which I should donate some money.

I’m not going to at this time.

You see, once upon a time, I was stupid enough to say yes to one of you (Auckland’s Starship Hospital, if you were wondering) and shortly after that, not a day would go by where I *didn’t* get a phone call from a cause and/or charity also wanting my money.

And my mailbox became full of junk mail from other worthy causes and/or charities.

The final straw came when Starship sent me a parcel. Supposedly it was an envelope. Said parcel came wrapped in glossy paper, and was written on heavyweight paper. It included magnets, keychains, glossy paper greeting cards, and a bunch of other stupid things.

It made me wonder where my original money went, tell you the truth. Did it help a child on the ward, or did it go towards paying for glossy paper and keychains?

Not to mention that Starship clearly had sent my details on to other worthy causes and/or charities with “HERE’S AN IDIOT!” written all over it.

So, dear worthwhile cause and/or charity, sorry. I will not be donating to your cause when you phone me up with your sob story or snail mail me greeting cards painted by a blind, one-armed child in Africa.

However, I will take your details and I’ll check you out in my own time. I’ll check to see where my money actually goes, because if I’m going to give you money to help your worthwhile cause and/or charity, it had better damned well go towards what you say it will, and not magnets and keychains. If I like what I see, I’ll donate to you anonymously.

Anonymously. So you don’t deluge me with phone calls and paper that I don’t need. Because I really really hate that and it prejudices me against your worthwhile cause and/or charity.

Just ask Starship. They don’t get my donations anymore, even though they are a worthy cause.

Sincerely,

Annoyed Former Idiot

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

10 responses to “Dear worthwhile cause and/or charity”

  1. Maricris of Zensible Mama says :

    That is not cool at all. It’s unfortunate that some charities would do this. But at least, now you know which charity deserves your money, right?

  2. The Dutch Girl says :

    It is a very effective, albeit extremely tiresome, way to weed out the bad ones from the good. I used to work for a charity. I know we bought addresses but we never sold them. Thanks for your visit to the Northwoods on my SITS Day!

    Hanneke

  3. eof737 says :

    Pity really that some charities spend a huge chunk of their donations on stuff like you mentioned and “administrative fees.” A larger % ought to go to the cause and I typically support those that make it a priority… I hear you.
    E

    • Broot says :

      As an employee of a nonprofit charity, I can understand some “administrative fees.” I see where they go. Of course, not 78% of donations going to administrative fees, but a reasonable amount, I can. Handing out branded junk willy-nilly? A waste of time, resources, plastic, and my money? Decidedly not. πŸ™‚

      Thanks E! πŸ™‚

  4. solodialogue says :

    I know what you mean. It’s a sad thing to waste funds needed for the people who need it on “souvenirs” of a good deed like stickers and key chains. In my world as a lawyer, too, I’ve seen some terribly wrong things done by administrators of non-profit charities with big names, including embezzlement and preying on people in vulnerable positions to rewrite wills (think – people who’ve just lost a loved one). Relatively speaking, the bad people within the charitable organizations are few are far between but the bad ones are very bad. It is a real eye-opener.

  5. anitajd says :

    Amen, Sister! And I also love when I send a donation to a favorite charity, and 2 weeks later (after the original check was cashed) I get a new letter asking for MORE money. (sigh)

Leave a Reply

