Apparently I wasn’t busy enough

The universe clearly wants me to be so busy I can’t think.

As you know, I wear several hats for Playcentre.  For those hats, I’m currently 1) editing the next issue of the Journal, 2) checking the bulkfunding (government requirement) for 3 centres, 3) planning for an ERO visit to 2 centres and 4) Facilitating C4 discussions this weekend.

Not good enough, according to the universe.

Yesterday, in the mail, I got a Jury Duty notice.  *sigh*  I really don’t mind doing my civic duty.  But honestly, their timing is always horrible. Why can’t they pick a week when I have absolutely nothing going on? Last time they wanted me to do jury duty during the school holidays, during the same week we were going on holiday to Whanganui. (I was excused.)

I have no reason to be excused this time but it still means I’m going to have to work my butt off to make sure my other work is done so I can “hurry up and wait” at the courthouse.

My hubby is so cross. How come I’ve been picked TWICE and he’s never been picked? He so badly wants to go!!

Tags: , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

8 responses to “Apparently I wasn’t busy enough”

  1. kat says :

    LOL! Your hubby wants to go?! What sort of a case is he hoping for?

    Good luck with your “Like I wasn’t busy enough before!” week.

  2. bluecottonmemory says :

    Take notes and turn it into a mystery novel. Have you ever read Rumpole? Read it to get in the mood for jury duty! I’ve never been nominated either! LOL

  3. Amber says :

    I’ve never been selected for Jury Duty. I’m kind of glad.

    Though it would give me time to read while I wait so…hmm..

  4. Dianna Graveman says :

    Twice I was summoned for jury duty. The first time I was excused after I was asked on the preliminary questionnaire if I was related to or had ever been related to a law enforcement officer. Not only was my uncle an officer, he was killed in the line of duty. I was excused. Not sure what the case was about.

    The second time, I was summoned to appear on the very first day of a new school year (back when I taught third grade). Although I am curious–and would not mind doing my civic duty–no teacher of young students wants to be absent the very first day (and possibly week or more) of school and have a substitute set the tone for the year. But I was lucky — the superintendent of my school district felt the same way and got me excused.

    I still wouldn’t mind serving…but I do hope my next summons comes at a more opportune time! Sorry for your bad timing!

    • Broot says :

      That’s just it, isn’t it? I think many of us would be more willing if we could tell them when we’re available. But as I said, it could be a lot worse!!

Leave a Reply

