Do you have a First Aider at your house?

(This post was originally published Feb 22, 2010. I’m feeling extremely under the weather plus it’s a holiday Monday here in NZ, so I figured I’d do a bit of a re-run. Enjoy!!)

Seeing someone in need and not being able to help is extremely frustrating and scary. I remember when I was working retail many years ago a lady came in and had an epileptic seizure in the store and we all stood helpless (besides calling for first aid and for the ambulance) not knowing what to do.

Lucky for the lady (and for us) someone in the store had completed a first aid course and promptly took over. The ambulance paramedics were impressed and happy at the First Aider for their assistance, for they had done all the right things.

 I’d know what to do now… I have taken a very basic First Aid course. And I’m glad I have that knowledge. I never want to have to use it, but it’s empowering knowing that I can help if a situation arises.

It occurred to me the other day that I am able to help my family should a need for first aid arise, and yet, if something happened to me, they cannot reciprocate. That’s kinda scary. I can save them and they can’t save me.

The Red Cross First Aid instructors aim to have at least one person with First Aid in every home. At least one. The scary thing is that most homes don’t have even one. And here I am fretting that we have one, but not two. Of course, it would be nice if First Aid courses were cheaper than they are. But then, one could argue that $100-200 is worth it as a type of insurance.

Do you have First Aid? Do you have at least one First Aider in your house? Would you pay that $100-200 if you didn’t?

Tags: , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

6 responses to “Do you have a First Aider at your house?”

  1. solodialogue says :

    I need to do this! I have no excuses. I’ve been meaning to since before the little guy was born. It’s very good advice to do it. I especially want to know the Heimlich maneuver in case the little one chokes!

  2. JennTheGamerMom says :

    I can perform CPR on a child. I have now been trained to reduce a dislocated elbow. I know basic first aid for bumps, scrapes, cuts, and any number of childhood booboos. I can usually bring down a fever. I know what to do for anaphylaxis or diabetic sugar shock. I am certified in NONE of these things (or my certifications have expired).

  3. Blond Duck says :

    I need to renew my CPR certification.

Leave a Reply

