What I learned from my Jury Summons

Courtroom

Image by srqpix via Flickr

I was called up for Jury Duty this week. It was my second time this year. My first one got deferred as I was going away at the same time as my jury duty.

But today, I went, and attended the Jury Selection Process.

Here’s what I learned:

1. If you only pay for a couple of hours, hoping  you won’t be picked and will be sent home, you will definitely be picked. Conversely, if you pay for a whole day’s worth of parking, assuming you will be picked, then you won’t be. (I paid a full day, but the person sitting beside me only paid for 120 minutes. Guess who got picked?)

2. If you arrive late, you are guaranteed to be picked for Jury Duty.  Every single person who arrived late and was added to the box after the other names were in was picked for Jury Duty.

3. Court officials are extremely aware that everyone hates Jury Duty and they’re a bit defensive about it in their opening talks.

4. Apparently, in NZ, serving on a jury does not exempt you from Jury Duty for the next 6 months to a year. Oh no.  I got home today to another summons next month.

5. Having a vomiting child at home is not a valid excuse to be excused on the day of Jury Duty. You’re still expected to find some kind of childcare. Sucks.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

17 responses to “What I learned from my Jury Summons”

  1. Aleta says :

    If we attend jury duty, we can’t get called again for 2 years, unless it’s Federal. They won’t use me on a jury. I know too much with the court system as I file suits on customers, etc. Besides, all you have to do is look at the attorney and let him know you aren’t easily controlled. They will take people who are class clowns in the jury selection, because they figure they can manipulate them. I’ve watched the attorney tactics and they don’t want anyone that they think is smart or will form their own opinion or will influence anyone else in the jury.

    • Broot says :

      I think it works differently here in NZ. They told us that the most likely reason we would be challenged was because the lawyers were trying to get a good cross-section of people. I wish I got a 2 year hiatus!!

  2. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Annoying, isn’t it? Although I wouldn’t know by personal experience because I’ve never been called for it. Aleta has some good pointers there – do everything to make yourself unattractive as a juror and maybe that’ll work for you! 🙂 Hope Miss Chatterbox feels better really soon – it’s sure hanging on for her, isn’t it! Poor thing.

  3. karenslaw says :

    Ok so always pay a full day’s parking, right? 😉

    As I will be picking a jury on Monday, this is a reminder of how I am viewed out there. Strong opinions are not necessarily bad as long as they are in your favor right? Try my shoes on. They are not comfortable. Just sayin.

    • Broot says :

      I never even saw the lawyers… didn’t get that far. The defensive people were the court employees in charge of herding the jurors. 😉 Hope your jury picking goes well. 🙂

  4. changingmoods says :

    “4. Apparently, in NZ, serving on a jury does not exempt you from Jury Duty for the next 6 months to a year. Oh no. I got home today to another summons next month.”

    Ugh! That sucks. Sorry about that.

  5. Lizbeth says :

    Really, another jury duty notice in the mail?!? Ugghhh.

  6. Lindsay says :

    Wow 2 jury duties in such a short time! I didn’t even know that was possible/legal. Good luck to you!

  7. Malcolm says :

    The first and last time I got called up for jury service I was “challenged” on my way to the jury box (by which side I have no idea). Following the selection the judge had the nerve to come out and tell those “unsuccessful” participants that “there is nothing personal in being challenged”. To say I was furious at having my impartiality and integrity questioned is an understatement. Quite apart from the fact that I think the whole system is rotten to the core it causes inconvenience and hardship to people who have done nothing wrong except for being born. The system should be thrown out and replaced by a troika of judges with technical experts where required.

Leave a Reply

