Winter Holidays

Mount Ruapehu in winter, from south side (Turoa).

Mount Ruapehu in winter, from south side (Turoa). Image via Wikipedia

I know what you’re thinking – WINTER? It’s hot here in (North America/Europe/Japan/other Northern Hemisphere location).

But here in the Southern Hemisphere it is most definitely winter.  Got down to 4C the other night.  I’ve been sleeping with all my woolies on, a hot water bottle, AND the all-important warm husband (who, I might add, keeps insisting I have too many blankets on the bed and it’s too hot for him to sleep).

Bonus – two weeks off school and work! Yay!!  When my children were in preschool I could not understand all the other mums who would cheer and breathe a sigh of relief for the school holidays.

“You don’t understand!” I would wail.  “They’ll be asking me WHY they can’t go to preschool music, and WHY they can’t go to Playcentre, and WHY we can’t go all the things they usually do.  It will be HORRIBLE!!!”

But the school mums would just smile knowingly and reiterate how happy they would be to have their children home for two weeks.

Both my children are in school now, and I understand.

Two whole weeks of not having to get up on time in the morning and get ready to get to school and work.  Two whole weeks of doing what we want to do. Two whole weeks of listening to my children tell me all about what they’re doing and what’s going on and what they want to do and how they’re hungry, and thirsty, and tired, and why isn’t it their turn on the computer and I’m BORED and… oh. hmmmm.

Well, let’s just concentrate on not having to get up in the morning and we get to do what we want to do, shall we?  I really like the lie-in (sleeping in!!)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

4 responses to “Winter Holidays”

  1. Blond Duck says :

    Even though it’s 100, I prefer this to winter!

  2. Aleta says :

    Winter, oh send me some! I love cooler weather, but in New Orleans we only have two seasons: Summer and Summer Lite. Enjoy the days of sleeping in 🙂

  3. Lizbeth says :

    Enjoy it!! On my kids first day off he woke me up early (thank you very much) announced to the world it was vacation and he didn’t have to get up early any more. Ironic, huh? And he then proceeded to tell me one hundred thousand times how bored he was. It was 6:45AM….

  4. eof737 says :

    Isn’t it wonderful that we live in a global community that experiences so many different climatic changes simultaneously. We are slowly recovering from a major heatwave and you need woolies… I love it! Enjoy your down time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

