Crafting Jealousy

polymer clay (studio by sculpey) pendants

Totally not how my polymer clay ended up. Image via Wikipedia

Looking at all these beautiful pictures on Pinterest has me green with jealousy.

Such good ideas! Such pretty things! All so (deceptively) easy to make! I could do them at home!!

Not.

It’s not like I haven’t tried. I have, in the past, spent hundreds of dollars at craft stores and brought many beautiful treasures home to be made into something else. I start out with the best of intentions and a great sense of purpose and determination.

What do I end up with?  A messy table and an extremely sad craft that never ever looks like it’s supposed to, no matter how I try.

I tried to sew a t-shirt once.  My mother had to finish it and attempt to repair the damage.  This, after a whole year in Home Economics in school and several lessons from my mother, grandmother, and mother-in-law. I can sew a straight line, and sew a button back on. More than that, forget it.

I tried to build two dollhouses from kits. Modge podge, hot glue, sawdust and splinters everywhere, and the house was on a bit of a lean.

Polymer clay? Yep. Been there, done that. Broke the oven, if I remember right. Hubby has banned me from even looking at polymer clay.

Tried scrapbooking too. Ruined pictures. Scrapbook was a mess.

Oh I know! Once, I knitted some squares and then crocheted them into a blanket.  I think that was my biggest (and only) success. It’s probably a good thing that no official knitter looked at the squares closely, though.

What’s my problem? Mainly a lack of attention to detail and precision. I’m very much a big picture kind of person. Most projects needed precision cuts, folds, gluing etc etc etc and that’s just not me.

So I think I’ll just have to look at all the pretty pictures. Even though I’m just itching to do something with pretty quilting fabric and buttons.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

11 responses to “Crafting Jealousy”

  1. susan says :

    yeah i’m a big picture person too…and making conscious effort to avoid Pinterest…I spend enough time on this thing as it is!

  2. Lizbeth says :

    I had to laugh!! I’m like you too, I try but it just doesn’t turn out! I do better looking at pictures…

  3. Angela says :

    This is why I started to do one project a week – so that I break things off in manageable chunks. I’m a big picture thinker as well, so my sewing tends to be on the sloppy side, but since my kids aren’t old enough to complain, I don’t really care.

  4. Lynn from For Love or Funny says :

    I am just like you – a big picture person. Many of my crafts have details that are missing!

  5. Blond Duck says :

    I’m sure you’re being hard on yourself!

  6. Aleta says :

    What about finding a craft buddy? That way it might keep you motivated and also you can instruct and help each other… just a thought… if you really want to keep doing crafting…

    I know this much… I can barely hem pant’s legs with my sewing machine. I’m not going to do any more than that with the machine. Lol. And clay looks a lot easier than it is… I love making jewelry, but clay doesn’t work well with me either 🙂

  7. Tammy says :

    I will say I have tried polymer clay and while I would love to be able to create with the clay – it is just not meant to be. I think a kindergartner could do a better job with clay than I can lol Have a great day!!!

  8. why'd i come in here? (kbean123) says :

    Right! It’s like every Pinterest craft is completed and photographed by Martha Stewart’s staff. That’s why I started an art journal. You can’t mess it up…no precision necessary..the messier the better and you can use free ephemera. However, my daughter is making her bedroom furniture from pallets at this very moment…darn Pinterest. We’re both addicted and it’s driving my poor husband crazy. We’ve broken one saw and dropped his hammer in a gallon of paint. We baked the brownies with the Oreos in the center too…warning-Pinterest makes you fat and just creates expensive messes 🙂 . Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

