The dreaded birthday list

Birthday Cake Slice

Image by QuintanaRoo via Flickr

It’s that time of year again, when family ask me what I think I’d like for my birthday.

The question makes me sigh pensively.

My hubby refuses to purchase anything I put on a birthday list. He believes he should find me something I don’t know that I want. That’s resulted in some interesting gifts, like the backyard lounger that was really thoughtful but is now barely used, and the digital photo keychain that won’t hold a charge long enough to look at any photos. Last year he swore he had found the ultimate gift – a boxed set of Roald Dahl books.  That one was pretty good, but it didn’t make me squeal with joy. 

Last Christmas he actually bought me the one thing that I asked for – a guitar.  That was fantastic.

But now, seriously, I have no idea what to say. I have a $30 voucher for the mall that I haven’t used because I haven’t found anything I want to buy for myself. My mother usually sends me money and I struggle every year to find an approved something that would qualify as a gift. (I’m not allowed to buy groceries, things for the children, or kitchen stuff with the money, usually!!)

The stuff I really want is too expensive. Things like a piano. An iPad2.  A fancy phone. Heck, even getting my engagement ring fixed would be great ($400!). Or, it’s stuff no one will buy me. Like a range hood for my stove.  Or stuff there’s no point in buying at the moment, like a new stereo for my car (the car’s not going to last much longer!!)

So what do i say? I’m not a girly girl that likes buying clothes and at any rate, I’m too big to find clothes shopping “fun.” I don’t wear makeup.  I wear minimal jewellery. Perfume gives me a headache. Chocolate makes me pimply, fat, and grumpy. I get all my books from the library. I don’t collect anything but dust and I don’t need more dust collectors.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I’m quite happy and want for nothing.  What I’d really like for my birthday is a night with my friends playing card games, eating cake and the dreaded chocolate.

And if that’s not good enough, hey, I’ve got a garden full of weeds that needs desperate attention. Getting rid of those would make my day!!

 

P.S. – I’m away for a National Meeting this weekend – I won’t be able to respond/approve comments until I get back! 🙂 Have fun while I’m gone!

Tags: , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

21 responses to “The dreaded birthday list”

  1. susan says :

    better use that voucher and buy Uno, chocolate and a big cake:)

  2. Robin says :

    Oh yeah….I know….
    My husband used to buy me jewelry, which was okay, but he would buy the most gosh awful pieces from a local jeweler…..nothing I would want to get caught dead in, let alone living. I swear they always saw him coming and would unload their ugliest pieces on him. I finally got up enough courage and told him not to buy me anymore jewelry. Then he started buying the gadgets….most I liked but few worked well enough or long enough not to become a dust catcher. Now it’s candy and flowers. My thyroid has gone on the blink and, no matter how much I diet and exercise, I have been steadily gaining weight. :-/
    Last thing I need is candy.
    I wouldn’t mind the flowers but the flowers he brings home must be marked down on sale from the grocer’s. They tend to last a day or two at best and they are usually some cheap arrangement in some cheap vase.
    Usually the things I really want, I buy myself and, like you, a new car or central air for the house would be too expensive. I do my own weeding and prefer it that way, but I would love to have koi pond out back. But hubby thinks that is a dumb idea.
    For now, I accept the flowers and candy with big smiles, thank yous and kisses because it sure beats expensive ugly jewelry.
    Wishing you a beautiful day….
    Oh and…..Happy Birthday!

  3. Aleta says :

    Drop a hint about the weeds to your husband 🙂 Maybe ask for a girl’s night out with your family and friends, explaining how time together is more precious than any material gift they could give.

    Happy Birthday! 🙂

  4. nzpixie says :

    I have the same dilemma – yesterday both my mum and hubby asked what I wanted, and rolled their eyes when I said I didn’t know. In the end, I told my hubby I just want a card from our bubba (hubby does NOT do cards. Ever), and for him to cook me dinner on my birthday. What about asking them to hire you a gardener for a day or two to control the weeds? Have a great birthday!

  5. Michelle says :

    Whenever I have a mall voucher I can never find anything I want to use it on, the last one I had I ended up buying underwear. I can always think of so many things I want but the things I love most are the ‘doing’ presents like going to a show, going on a road trip/mini holiday etc, normal things but made extra birthday special 🙂

  6. April says :

    I unfortunately never have this problem. I want too many things…I’m kind of ashamed if it! But it’s YOUR birthday, so don’t stress! Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day!

  7. solodialogue says :

    Happy Birthday, my friend! Didn’t you know that chocolate doesn’t count on your birthday?! Indulge yourself! 🙂

  8. Penelope says :

    Happy Birthday…and I hope it all works out fabulous (my husband is pretty good with jewelry, except that he gets such SMALL PIECES)

  9. Jessica@Team Rasler says :

    Hilarious, I’m the same way. When asked by my brother once what I wanted for my birthday, it generated a whole post about how I wanted a new house, a gardener, a new car… you get the idea! I think my husband would LOVE if I would just give him a list, but with a list like that, what can he do? (My brother was finally asked for a magazine subscription, which I love.) Anyway, hope you have a happy birthday coming up!

  10. eof737 says :

    Happy Belated Birthday! I hope you got just what you needed for the day… 🙂

Leave a Reply

