Ra whānau ki a koe, Bonne Fête à moi, Happy Birthday to me…

Yesterday was my birthday.

I got to sleep in.  I got cuddles, the happy birthday song (in 3 languages!! te reo Māori, French, and English) and presents in bed.

individual birthday cake made for me by a friend. Yay!

My children bought me some LUSH stuff. They hate that store. Complained it was too smelly. But they went in and chose some lovely stuff just for me because they knew I loved it.

I was left to read my book all by myself for the morning. (Bliss!)

For lunch, I was taken to a new place called Yumm!! that makes pancake stacks with fruit and ice cream that was beyond sweet (too sweet!!) but was indeed, yum!!

Then we meandered for a bit at the local mall.

When we got home, my lovely hubby started washing the windows. Even the super tall ones that I can’t reach. How fantastic is that? He also did the laundry and the kitchen.  My house seems brighter. I think we’re getting more sunshine through the windows now.

My fantastic father-in-law made his special lasagne for my birthday dinner.

Then the children & I played on the PS2 before they went to bed, and then hubby & I watched a movie together.

Fantastic day. 🙂  (And for once, hubby gave me something I really wanted – Acts of Service i.e., housework. I told him later that was the best present ever.)

Wanna hear “Happy Birthday” in te reo Māori?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

10 responses to “Ra whānau ki a koe, Bonne Fête à moi, Happy Birthday to me…”

  1. Blond Duck says :

    What a cute cake! Happy birthday!

  2. Mary says :

    Have you seen the book that’s called “P*rn for Women?” It is full of glossy photos of men (clothed) doing things like cleaning the floors, washing dishes, caring for the baby, and doing the windows.

    Happy Birthday!!!

    • Broot says :

      I think I have seen that one!! Sounds like my kind of book. If I left it hanging around my house do you suppose Hubby would get the hint?

  3. Aleta says :

    Awww, it sounds like you had a wonderful birthday! So happy for you! And wow – washing the windows, Impressive! Love the cake picture too – very sweet 🙂

  4. Lizbeth says :

    Happy Birthday!!!

    And that cake looks devine!!

  5. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    Happy birthday! It sounds like it was a great day 🙂

  6. Deidre says :

    Happy Birthday!!! it sounds like such a fantastic day! And I love that you got to hear happy birthday in three languages! That’s so awesome.

  7. Robin says :

    Aw…
    That was the best ever birthday. So very happy for you.
    And to think you were dreading your birthday and hubby’s gift….

    BTW….it is still your birthday week. 🙂
    I wish for you a most beautiful year. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

