So, if I can’t stand up, it’s man flu?

Golf balls.

Image via Wikipedia

A few weeks ago, I came down with a horrible lurgy that saw me lying on the couch,  helpless, for about 5 days.

At the time, my hubby insisted I had “man flu” despite my attempts to get up and help take care of the children, and my Sunday Disinfectathon, in which I scrubbed the entire house in order to prevent Hubby or The Girl from getting the dreaded lurgy.

Fast forward a bit.  Last Wednesday I felt the tickle in my throat.  By Friday the glands underneath my jaw bones were the size of golf balls and sore to touch and move. By Saturday I was dosed up on Paracetemol (Tylenol).  All this time, I assumed I had a cold and attempted to do everything I would normally do, including work.  The funny thing was that the Hubby kept looking at me intently, and asking frequently “Are you sure you’re okay?”

He kept offering to do stuff, too. Now, keep in mind that during the previous Dreaded Lurgy I looked pasty and green, and did not move off the couch.  All this time, except for going to bed a lot earlier, I was trying to behave normally.  And yet, me lying on the couch with a heavy head is “man-flu.”

On Monday I gave in and went to the doctor.

To his credit, the doctor did not tell me off for not appearing on his doorstep earlier.  He took my temperature, noted my fever (“You drove here yourself today? Wow.”) checked my ears, my heartrate (“Going a bit fast today, aye?”) and had a look at my throat.  “Now, THAT’s impressive,” he says.  “I think those are the hugest tonsils I’ve seen. AND they’re covered in pus.  When you get home, you should get a torch (flashlight) and have a look!”

You know it’s bad when the doctor is impressed.

Looking back, I think I had a fever starting Friday. But I was so dosed up on the paracetemol I didn’t notice.

Since then, the Hubby has been offering to come home early, and has been taking the children to their extra-curricular activities. He’s even been making dinner, and generally fussing over me. This did not happen during the Dreaded Lurgy. I was told to “suck it up” and “stop man-fluing.”

So I don’t get it. What’s the difference here?  Doctor’s approval via the extremely strong antibiotics I was given? My attempts to carry on because I was able to stand? (Keeping in mind standing wasn’t an option for the last lurgy.)

I asked the Hubby why the last bug was “man flu” and this one wasn’t and I didn’t get a straight answer. Can anyone enlighten me?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

5 responses to “So, if I can’t stand up, it’s man flu?”

  1. Donna says :

    I’m not a man, so I don’t think my reply counts. Maybe the doc’s confirmation had something to do with it. That and the golfball-sized tonsils. Have they gone down? How are you feeling?

    • Broot says :

      The left tonsil has deflated but the right one is still quite big. I am feeling a lot better though. Still tired and unwell, but heaps better than I was feeling. 🙂 Thanks Donna!

  2. solodialogue says :

    Man-flu or not, there is nothing worse than being sick! Good thing the Hubs figured out to start taking care of you – and did you not just do all that birthday bash stuff? Hey Superwoman!! Take yourself a good break and REST!!! xoxo

  3. ElizOF says :

    I hope you get better soon… It is a nasty bug going around… I haven’t fully recovered… But we will! 🙂

  4. Blond Duck says :

    Snort. Men are babies when it comes to the flu. I hope you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

