Googling names

Image representing Google as depicted in Crunc...

Image via CrunchBase

Last night I discovered that my high school is planning an all-years reunion next year.  It coincides with one of those important milestone years for my graduating class.

No, I’m not going.  I’m not travelling all the way back to Canada just for that, first off. Second, I remember what happened at the 10th year reunion (I didn’t go to that one, either). And third, the people that I might go to see won’t even be there.

That’s right, they’re too busy or successful, or just can’t be bothered.

So I figured I’d google or FB them instead and have a look.  I found almost all of them.  About what you’d suspect, really. Kids, no kids, married, not married, successful career, or still trying.  No surprises.

Except one. (There always has to be one, doesn’t there?) I couldn’t find him at all. No matter what I tried (I’m a bit of a google goddess, you know, I can usually find what I’m looking for, no problem!) I could not find him on the interwebz.

Extremely unusual, since I had him pegged for an IT career.

But then, I remembered that you can’t find me, either. If you google my maiden name, you’ll get pages and pages of tributes for a woman who died in 9/11.  I think I get one entry about half way through if you’re being thorough and looking carefully. Most people would give up by then.

If you google my married name, you get pages and pages of amazing lawyers, writers, artists, real estate agents, musicians, and mums who share my name. But not me. I looked through all the pages, and I’m not there.

By contrast, my two online pseudonyms come up as second or third on google.  So if you don’t know those, you don’t find me.

I’m guessing that the fellow I’m looking for is online, but using a pseudonym that I don’t know. Darn him for being privacy-conscious like me! Ha.

Have you googled yourself or other people? Did you get the result you expected?

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

10 responses to “Googling names”

  1. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    Whenever I google my husband’s name, pages for an African-American actor come up – it’s hilarious! He’s waaaaay down the google list 🙂

  2. Lizbeth says :

    Its funny because you can’t find my real maiden name on the web at all and since I got married all you can find are these asian girls as my married last name is pretty common in Vietnam. So very few people can find me. Funny thing is, my mom was able to find my blog name in under 60 seconds!!!

  3. susan says :

    yes i have googled myself, and scarily i come up on about the first 20 references…must start saying NO more….and friends too…including ”that one”…i love google:)

  4. Blond Duck says :

    Most of mine is professional stuff!

  5. Tori Nelson says :

    I never googled myself until a lady found my blog. She had the same exact name and was getting all kinds of weird e-mails from my slightly whacko readers. I had to figure out what other Tori’s were on the web, and to my surprise I share a name with a photographer and a female wrestler. I might just be the most boring Tori Nelson around 🙂

  6. ElizOF says :

    Google is pretty amazing on that stuff… In the early days I used to Google myself a lot. I don’t do it anymore… kinda boring/bored. Might be time to take another peek. 🙂

  7. Blond Duck says :

    Have a wonderful Tuesday!

  8. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Most of the hits on the first 4 pages of my name search ARE me, actually! And a few on the next bunch of pages too. Strangely enough, the first one is a fb profile who ISN’T me. My hubby shares his name with a famous British car designer, so you won’t find anything at all on him.

    I don’t blame you for not wanting to go to your reunion – I missed the 20 year because no one contacted me about it despite quite a few people knowing where I was, and I really don’t care to go for any others. You’re quite right about anyone you really would like to see being accessible via FB or by Googling. I can’t find two of my old boyfriends either, but I’ve heard that one did not go down the right path so I don’t think I’d want to contact him anyway!

  9. Pam says :

    Oh yes, I google names all the time. When I google mine, someone with my name pops up early on who has some complaint lodged against her. I always hope no one thinks it’s me! Stopped by from SITS.

  10. Fun On a Dime Lady (@Funonadime) says :

    I’ve done that before, too! My married name is so common, though. I actually went to HS with 2 girls with my current name! lol I have to go my my full name maiden/married on Facebook to avoid awkward friend request denials for people who think I’m somebody else.

    When I am really wanting to search for someone (who doesn’t have a common name) I usually start with zabasearch.

    Thanks for stopping by on my SITS Day! I hope to get to know you better!

Leave a Reply

