Voting the candidate, not the politics

It’s election time here in NZ, and the politics are flying.  There are signs everywhere, televised debates, and hopeful candidates knocking door to door.

The Labour Party is running an impressive looking campaign.  The National Party is slinging mud.  The smaller parties are there but relatively quiet over past years.

And  I have no idea who to vote for.

If I could pick by candidate, I would.  I know which of the party leaders I would vote for, based on how they react with people, how accessible they are, and how they present themselves in the media.  I know which local candidates I would vote for, based on their actions, their accessibility, their ability to listen actively and hear what people have to say.

Unfortunately, none of those local candidates are in my constituency.  (Maybe I should move just for the election?)

And picking the party leader I like means I might get stuck with the politics I don’t agree with.

So then, do I pick by politics?  But then none of the options suit me best. Each one of them leaves a key part or four out.

What I’d really like to do is mash all the politics together.  Pick this bit from that party, that bit from another party, and more from here there and everywhere.

None of the politics suit, and none of my local candidates suit.

Are you sure I can’t just vote for the candidates I like in other ridings?

It’s a bit like Playcentre leadership, in a way.  We shoulder-tap those people who we think will be good leaders, based on their skills and knowledge, and not on their politics.  At Playcentre, I’ve purposely shoulder-tapped people for leadership roles, knowing that their methods and ideas don’t necessarily agree with mine, but confident that with their leadership we will head in the right direction regardless.

I want to do that.  Elect candidates based on their actions and abilities, and not based on a political platform that may or may not be the candidates own beliefs.  Vote the candidate, not the politics.

Heh. I wish.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

14 responses to “Voting the candidate, not the politics”

  1. susan says :

    i agree if only we could take the best of each…i suppose that is what MMP is meant to be?

  2. Simone @Greatfun4kids says :

    Good post!
    I am not a political person with a staunch “blind” loyalty to one particular party.
    In our electorate the guy standing for the Red Team is the best guy. The blue team’s gal is weak and embarrassing. So we’ll be voting for the Red guy in our electorate.
    But our party vote will be going with the Blue Team.
    I’m not happy to have the Reds back in, and want to give the Blues a bit more of a go. Mainly because i like the Blue Leader better than the Red guy.
    But, like you, I wish we could pick the bits of policies from each of their agendas that would most benefit our country.
    I’m hoping the little teams will keep them all honest, which is why I’ll also be voting to keep MMP.
    And hopefully ONE DAY they might all grow up and act like leaders and work TOGETHER for the good of our country instead of fighting like kids in the playground over their differences, blaming each other for the problems and pointing fingers when we all know its far more complex than that.
    Too much to hope for?
    yeah. probably. SIGH.

    • Broot says :

      In our electorate, the blue candidate is the best one and the others don’t even bother to show up. Sad, really. We don’t even have a Green candidate. Blue guy doesn’t have to work very hard to keep his seat!!

      I’d at least like to see all the parties work together like they do in Finland for the country’s education policy like was in that Education video released the other day. That would be awesome.

  3. Blond Duck says :

    Over here the big fuss is who will run for the Republican candidate and they argue like grade school children!

    • Broot says :

      They do that here, too. That’s one of my beefs with the current elected party, actually – they’re slinging a lot of mud that isn’t necessary. It’s a campaign that’s run on “The other guys do this, and that’s horrible, so vote for us.”

  4. solodialogue says :

    Is it wrong to be apathetic? That’s rhetorical of course. I stick with the party even if I don’t care for the candidate because my faith in politicians is an oxymoron… 😦

  5. Amber says :

    Politics make my head ache. I wish everyone could just play nice.

  6. ElizOF says :

    Yes… definitely an oxymoron. Especially with many of them talking out of both sides of their mouths. 😉

  7. Blond Duck says :

    I hope you had a good weekend!

  8. Mrs. H says :

    Sounds similar to the politics here no one person seems good enough or possesses everything. Just wanted to stop by and say thanks for visiting on my SITS day today!

  9. Lattejunkie says :

    We are in the situation where we are trying to work out who to vote for going on what we see in the media… Which is a load of high school girl tiffs and dramas! So maybe we’ll just pick a colour based on the last years dramas and give them a go…

Leave a Reply

