Shared experiences are much better

Awhile ago, I shared my experience when I went to a weekend conference.  It didn’t go well. Or at least, it was a negative experience for me.  The other delegates’ mileage may have differed.

So when there was another conference just this past weekend, in the same city, I was very apprehensive. Especially when it looked like I’d be going by myself again. I was dreading it.

At the last minute, two of my peers decided to go too.  I was relieved. At the very least, I’d have pleasant people to talk to on the drive there and back.

It was much much better.  I think the reason was because my peers/friends were in the car, and we were able to talk and joke on the way.  It was also better because I had a chance to see (and be a bit silly) with a few other friends at the conference.

And it was better because we could all have a good whinge about the things we didn’t like about the conference without feeling like we were being whiny and complainy. (I know “complainy” isn’t a word, but it works. Go with it.)  And we could have a good smile and laugh over the things we did like.  (Yeah, I’m talking to you, Professor D. Zirker, your name is super super funny!)

So from now on, I’m going to make sure I have friends to go with me to these things.  The shared experience clearly makes everything better!!

Tags: , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

10 responses to “Shared experiences are much better”

  1. susan says :

    completely agree. my annual girls weekend at the Mount is all the more enjoyable for the shared car trip there and back (hurrah for 7 seaters…finally a good excuse to own one!)

  2. Dianna Graveman says :

    I sure relate to this post! I have gone to many a writing conference, both where I am a speaker and where I am not. Seems like who I go with and who I get to interact with while I’m there makes all the difference.

    On another note, sorry I’ve been incommunicado these past few months. We have had some major life changes, and our lives have been turned topsy turvy. I am back to blogging and reading others’ blogs, and although I’ve been still following you and reading your posts when I can, I’ll try to comment more going forward, too.

    Take care! Hope all is well with you.
    Dianna

  3. Blond Duck says :

    That’s why I love writing conferences!

  4. Shell Things (@shellthings) says :

    Seems like it’s always better with a friend or two along!

  5. solodialogue says :

    Glad it was much better! Being with friends always increases the smile factor for me too! 🙂

  6. Karen@WaistingTime says :

    I agree:) Even exercising is more fun.

  7. eof737 says :

    Glad to read you enjoyed the company… It does help sometimes. What kind of conference was it ? 🙂

    • Broot says :

      It was a National Executive business meeting for Playcentre. Decision papers and executive papers and information papers and all that kind of fun stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

