10 things I learned from my Nan

Just this past weekend, my Nan passed away. As part of my tribute to her, here’s what she taught me:

A super-chocolate cake, both baked and photogr...

1. Distance is no barrier to love and laughter.

2. When you’re big boobed, it’s extremely important to be properly fitted for a bra.

3. If  your knees hurt on a daily basis, tell the silly doctor who keeps saying your knees and hips are fine to check your feet.

4. Laundry dried outside on the line smells nicer than dried in a dryer.

5. It’s important to have a calm and peaceful place to go to when your life is hectic.

6. Sometimes people don’t need advice, they just need you to listen.

7. Even when your brain knows that worrying won’t help, sometimes your heart will still worry.

8. (Shared with Grandma) If you want somebody specific to have something of yours, gift it to them early or mark it somehow to say it is theirs in case something happens.

9. You don’t have to love all of your relatives but you do have to find a way to get along with them.

10. Cake tastes better if you eat the cake and icing together.  If you lick all the icing off first, the cake just doesn’t taste as nice.

Love you and miss you, Nan.

Tags: , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

7 responses to “10 things I learned from my Nan”

  1. Kat says :

    Such a wise woman! My deepest condolences!

  2. Robin says :

    Very wise! I agree on all points.

    Your Nan sounds like a wonderful woman, and I’m very sorry for your loss.

  3. Lizbeth says :

    I am so sorry. Your Nan sounds like a smart lady. In light of the fact I have family coming in town as we speak I’m especially touched by number nine. Thank you for that reminder. Hugs.

  4. solodialogue says :

    Nan taught you a lot. She is still going to teach you – you just don’t know it yet. Of course, she will be inside your heart for all time and her wisdom will live on when you pass it on…

    Btw – I always eat the icing and the cake together – it’s the only way!!! ❤

  5. Mary says :

    I loved this so much. Your Nan sounds like she was a lovely person.

Leave a Reply

