Everything happens for a reason

Historic Kerikeri buildings -- Stone Store, St...

When I was thirteen, my parents decided to move from a fairly “wealthy” town to a smaller, less wealthy, farming community.  When Nan & I talked about it, she said “everything happens for a reason!”

And indeed, if we hadn’t moved there, I wouldn’t have met my husband.

When I was at university and couldn’t get accepted into the major I wanted, Nan said “everything happens for a reason!”

And indeed, if I had completed that major, I probably wouldn’t have applied to the writing diploma program later. And I know I learned more from the diploma than I would have from that major. (I got a BA anyways – just a different one.)

When my hubby (before he was my hubby) moved back to New Zealand without me, and both of us were extremely upset, and my life seemed upsidedown, scary, and unhappy, my Nan said “everything happens for a reason!”

And indeed, my hubby fought for what he wanted, worked his way back to Canada, and became independent for the first time.  Our relationship was stronger after that.

When my permanent residence application was passed without any hitch, and our house in Canada sold at the exact same time our mortgage came due for renewal (saving us thousands!!) and everything surrounding our move went so smoothly we were expecting (but not finding) Murphy around every corner, Nan said “Clearly you’re meant to go to New Zealand.  Everything happens for a reason!”

And indeed, Hubby’s career took off, I found Playcentre and improved my parenting skills, and discovered my love for adult education.

When Hubby was offered a job in Kerikeri, New Zealand, and aspects of the move and details weren’t going so smoothly, I said to Hubby, in my Nan’s voice, “Everything happens for a reason. Maybe we aren’t meant to make this move.”  So we didn’t.

And indeed, 3 months later, Kerikeri flooded, and the house we would have rented was severely damaged.

Clearly, my Nan was on to something.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

13 responses to “Everything happens for a reason”

  1. Lattejunkie says :

    Your Nan was definitely onto something.

    My Gran always said that I shouldn’t worry about getting a boyfriend as that “nice boy down the road” will be the perfect one… Been married to him for 10 years in a month 😀

    Grandmothers – they are very wise.

  2. Michelle says :

    Such a sweet post and an awesome nan!

  3. Lizbeth says :

    A very wise woman indeed.

  4. susan says :

    Nana’s have the best advice….I can only hope I will be the same when and if I ever get to be one. Mine was a quiet source of strength and sanity to me and even after 20 years gone I still miss her

  5. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Sweet homage to a Nan that was obviously adored. I lost my grandmother this past summer just before she would have been 100 years old, so I know how you’re feeling. Isn’t it wonderful that you have such great memories and stories to pass long? *hugs* to you!

  6. Kavuli says :

    How sweet! Grannies are the best people in the world. I’m blessed to still have my gran, as she is well into her 90’s. Great post!

    PS – I’m visiting from SITS and following you now. 🙂

  7. ElizOF says :

    Yes, your Nan was intuitive and a visionary… Glad you were spared that tragedy. 🙂

  8. Maricris of Zensible Mama says :

    Your grandma is a wise woman. I totally believe in this too. Though sometimes, it’s just hard to get a grip of it until of course, the blessing behind it finally presents itself.

  9. solodialogue says :

    I love this!! How did I miss it?! The tribute to the wisdom of Nan is beautiful and I learned more about you in this post than I ever knew!! Beautiful photo too!

Leave a Reply

