Merry Christmas to me!

Every year it’s the same thing. My hubby asks for my gift wish list, and then he steadfastedly ignores it. Unless, of course, I complain appropriately (strums my guitar), but even then, it’s not a guaranteed thing.

Well, I think I’ve got it sussed.

See, I’m not allowed to buy anything for myself in the month or 5 leading up to my birthday or Christmas either.  If you’re keeping track, that means that most of the time, I shouldn’t be buying anything for myself.

Not so long ago, I complained.  I had seen a really good deal and I wanted to buy it right now while it was on sale.  The hubby finally agreed.  “But only if you wrap it and stick it under the tree.”

Well now. That got my attention. That’s how I get what I want? I can DO that!!

So, I bought myself the 2012 calendar that I wanted, and wrapped it with a tag that says “To Broot, Love from The Fridge. Merry Christmas.”

And I bought myself the car safety kit that I wanted.  Wrapped it up with a tag that says “To the Car, Love from Reuben the Road Safety Bear. Merry Christmas.”

How many of these do you suppose I can get away with?  I’ve got my eye on a Sudoku a day box calendar, the Muppet Show season DVDs, a range  hood for my oven, and an iPad2.

I’m rubbing my hands together with glee!!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

7 responses to “Merry Christmas to me!”

  1. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    OH! OH! THIS I LIKE!!!!! I was fondling… errr… looking at the iPad 2 in Best Buy last night and I’m just dying for one. This may just work. Woohoo! 😉

    • Broot says :

      I know!! I can’t believe I’ve only sussed this out this year!! Think of all the stuff I could have bought myself!! On the iPad2 tag: “To Broot, Merry Christmas, Love from Steve Jobs.” Can’t argue with a dead guy. 🙂

  2. Amber says :

    Ooo the iPad 2 does look pretty awesome.

  3. solodialogue says :

    You go girl!! Who could pick a better gift? 😉

  4. ElizOF says :

    Go for the lot… You only live once and deserve all the goodies you can treat yourself to… Why permission? Just Do it! 😉

  5. Sharm's Outlet says :

    Good for you… Congrats on your ipad2 that’s a lovely gift to go under the tree… I want to thank you for visiting me on my SITS Day… I know I am late… but I am here i love your blog… about your question how I survied the winter I well I wanted to say i was young and excited to watch snow… and had a blast and enjoyed every bit of it…

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. What’s on your birthday list? « Craving a Little Perspective - August 12, 2012

Leave a Reply

