And sing that richt Balulalow! (And sing the right lullaby)

(For the other posts in this series check out  Gaudete, Carol of the Bells, Sussex Carol and Twelve Days of Christmas.)

The last fun-to-sing Christmas carol I want to share with you is slow and pretty.  I remember it best with the solo sung by Leon Leontaridis.  He used to make grown men in the audience cry with that solo!!

Balulalow (arranged by Benjamin Britten) is written in old English, so I’ve got the lyrics (and the translation) for you here.

O my deare hert, young Jesu sweit,  (Oh my dear heart, young Jesus sweet)

Prepare thy creddil in my spreit, (Prepare your cradle in my spirit)

And I sall rock thee to my hert, (And I shall rock you to my heart)

And never mair from thee depart. (And nevermore from you depart)

 

But I sall praise thee evermoir (But I shall praise you forever)

With sanges sweit unto thy gloir; (With sweet songs of your glory)

The knees of my heart sall I bow, (The knees of my heart I shall bow)

And sing that richt Balulalow! (And sing the right lullaby)

Why is this one fun to sing? The harmony is gorgeous. And if you don’t know the song you probably aren’t listening so much to what the accompanying voices are doing but believe me, they’ve got the best part. 🙂

I wish I could link to Leon’s version but I don’t think it was ever videotaped and I don’t have the audio track from the CD.   So we’ll have to make do.

This will be my last post of this year.  I’ll be back with a super-special post on 6 January 2012, midnight, EST. So make sure you tune in for it!

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays!! I hope your celebrations are filled with family and love.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

16 responses to “And sing that richt Balulalow! (And sing the right lullaby)”

  1. solodialogue says :

    Beautiful.

    I hope you meant to say that you would be back posting on January 6th not December 6 next year!! How would I possibly go a full year?!

    Merry Christmas & Happy New Year to you and your family!!

  2. ElizOF says :

    Happy Holidays to you and yours! 🙂

  3. Blond Duck says :

    I hope you had a great Christmas!

  4. Blond Duck says :

    Have a good New Years!

  5. Lattejunkie says :

    Happy New Year! Looking forward to your post on the 6th 🙂

    Enjoy the break from blogging and I hope it dries up a little out there!

  6. Callie says :

    Thanks dude, and Happy New Year for you too 😀

  7. Blond Duck says :

    Hope you had a good New Year!

  8. Caren with a "C" says :

    YouTube is blocked on my computer… but I can imagine that would be a wonderful lullaby.

  9. Amber says :

    I swear I just posted a comment…not sure if the computer ate it or not so I’ll try again: Happy New Year!

  10. April says :

    I’m visiting from SITS! Hope your Christmas was wonderful and have a HAPPY 2012!

  11. Leslie says :

    What a fun post! I’ve never seen a Christmas/religious song in old English before. Very cool!

  12. Venus says :

    This is one of my fave carols, EVER!!!! Well, it’s been set to multiple tunes, but I tend to like them all. It’s such a pretty text. 🙂

Leave a Reply

