All about food – are you tagged?

Cyndi at Latte Junkie challenged me to answer some questions on food and cooking.

1. What, or who inspired you to start a blog?
I wanted a place to write out my musings and learnings. Just get back into the habit of writing. Writers write, you know. 😉

2. Who is your foodie inspiration?
Healthy Food Guide (HFG) and Pinterest at the moment.

3. Your greasiest, batter – splattered food/drink book is?
Betty Crocker Cookbook. Before I discovered HFG (see above) I used this most of the time.

4. Tell us all about the best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was it, what was it?
Kangaroo steak in Melbourne, Australia on our 10th wedding anniversary.  Yum!

6. What is the one kitchen gadget you would ask Santa for this year (money no object of course)?
Does a range hood count?  Hmmm. I’d love a kitchen aid mixer.  I think I have a whole list of stuff I want from Pampered Chef. New baking pans would be fantastic since some of mine are rusting.

7. Who taught you how to cook?
My mother, my home economics teacher, and a lot of trial, error, and practice. I like watching youtube videos to learn new techniques.

8. I’m coming to you for dinner what’s your signature dish?
I make a really yummy homemade pizza.  Crust from scratch. (That’s the one my hubby always requests) but I’m also proud of my hot & sour prawn soup.

Hot and Sour soup by jetalone, via Flickr

 9. What is your guilty food pleasure?
I love baked goods of any kind, but especially flavoured cakes, like an orange flavoured cake I request on my birthday.

10. Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn?
Even though I’m relatively skilled in the kitchen and can make a decent version of most recipes at which I try my hand, I have yet to make a successful batch of homemade uncooked fingerpaint for Playcentre.  (I think I’m the only one!!)

Finally…tag 5 other bloggers with these questions…like a hot baked potato…pass it on!

Righteo:

Karen at Solodialogue

Jenn at You know … that blog?

Jenn at Out of the Mouths of Gamers’ Babes

Jenny at Practically Perfect

and Susan at Mighty Acorns

Although of course I neither expect you to do it nor will I be insulted if you don’t. 🙂  Do it, or not. Your choice! 😉

(wow, I know a lot of Jenns)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

13 responses to “All about food – are you tagged?”

  1. Lattejunkie says :

    You are going to have to blog your hot sour prawn soup!! mmmmm.

    Thanks for taking part 😀 And you do know a lot of Jens… although I think I know about six too…

  2. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    Loved reading this – how fun! And I’m like you with a wishlist for Pampered Chef. My food chopper by them has just about had it with over 7 years of abuse 🙂

  3. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Well, there may be a few of us “Jenns” out there, but we’re all quite unique, thankyouverymuch 😉 Right Jenn(s)? haha

    My Kitchenaid Mixer is my all-time favourite gadget, definitely. I think I already HAVE everything I want for the kitchen, and then some… I have 2 huge cabinets devoted to just gadgets/small appliances! I’m a bit of a junkie.

    I’ll have to give this some thought… hrmmm…

  4. Blond Duck says :

    I wish I could have taken home ec!

  5. solodialogue says :

    And just after I let you escape on the last meme!! No good deed…. 😉

    Actually, I’ve always been a “wanna-be” foodie but – did you see those Christmas cookies I tried to make? Did you?

    Kangaroo steak?! I don’t know if I could do that one! Very cool questions though. “Thanks” Broot! I will give it my best shot!

    And – hey Blond Duck? I took Home Ec – didn’t help.

  6. ElizOF says :

    That soup looks delicious. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I Owe, I Owe, So it’s Off to Meme I Go… | Solodialogue - March 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

