Using one idea to answer another

Not too long ago, I read a post at BlogHer about a different way to get out of debt. In a nutshell, since concentrating on paying off her debt wasn’t working for the author, instead, she concentrated on making more money. (Focussed on a positive (more money) rather than a negative (less debt).) In this way, she paid off her debt.

I’m fortunate enough that Hubby & I agree on financial matters, and we have no financial difficulties in that way.

But it got me to thinking – I am physically challenged in the fitness category.  And when I say challenged, I mean that.  I have had foot, knee and hip problems since long before my BMI went over 25.  Within the last few years, I’ve concentrated on the negative – removing body fat to alleviate some of the pain.  But maybe (as in the link above), I would be better off concentrating on the positive – increasing how much I move.

And then a friend of mine posted this video on Facebook (Oh how I love these videos!!)

Seems I’m not the only one who thinks increasing my movement – however I do it – is of greater benefit than trying to remove the fat.

So that’s what I’ve already started to do.  I can limit my sitting and sleeping to 23.5 hours a day, surely?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

10 responses to “Using one idea to answer another”

  1. why'd i come in here? (kbean123) says :

    GREAT video!!! Thank you! I watched the whole thing and as a walker I can tell you that it has changed my life and has kept me healthy. My dad was a marathoner until his knees blew out, then he became a cyclist. He even moved to Taos NM for the steep hills….now his hips are bad. Moral of the story….WALK! It’s what we were designed to do. I also have a cardboard box on my kitchen counter to raise my laptop up to force me to stand when I blog and surf the net. I park FAR away and at the opposite end of the mall from where I need to be. Everything counts! 🙂

  2. ana patricia says :

    What a good way to look at things! Positivity goes such a long way in making any lifestyle changes. Good for you! Thanks for visiting my blog fellow SITSah! Totally know what you mean by tourists. I worked at the airport specifically with American cruise ship passengers so I totally know what you mean!
    Cheers!

  3. solodialogue says :

    You and me both! I LOVE these videos and had to post this one to my WW leader’s FB page! Getting me to actually move? Hmmm… I hope so. You’d think when it is cold like this I’d want to move to keep warm. I just want to get under a blanket and hide. I’m guessing that wouldn’t count. 😉

    ps- thanks for your kind words. Trying to keep up my spirits. xx

  4. Blond Duck says :

    Maybe you could invent a way to exercise while sleeping!

  5. Blond Duck says :

    Did you hear about the Paula Deen scandal?

  6. eof737 says :

    Increasing our movement is a great way to start. Reminds me of the saying that when we move our feet, the universe rallies to help us. 😉

Leave a Reply

