Stream of Consciousness Sunday/Monday: Sunday morning cartoons

#SOCsundayHow did you spend your Sunday mornings growing up?What are some of your favorite memories?

Sunday mornings were always the day of bad cartoons.  I remember getting up as early as possible on Saturday to get all the good cartoons, but Sunday mornings were horrible.  I think I avoided them when I was at home but I remember having sleepovers at my Nan’s house where both Nan & Poppa wouldn’t get up until after 8am and I’d be wide awake at 6:30am.  Since my bed was the couch in the living room, I could turn on the TV really quietly and watch all the horrible cartoons.  And shows. “Size Small” and “Hercules” were two of the ones that were on.  I remember wishing Nan would wake up sooner!!

But Sundays at my house were filled with the smell of cherry pipe tobacco,  the sound of CKNW radio (with hits from yesterday… and today!) and in general needing to occupy myself.  When I was younger my mom tried to get me to go to Sunday School… but she literally had to drag me so she gave up.

Sometimes Dad would take a load of stuff to the dump – that was always exciting.  But most of the time, my brothers and I were playing outside. And not always with the neighbourhood kids. Our backyard had a swingset and lots of good places to play with my smurfs.  Plus we had a tree house! It was unfinished and the paper wasps would often come in to get the wood to make their nests but it was a great place to hang out and watch the rain.

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. Wanna join in? Click the button above.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

14 responses to “Stream of Consciousness Sunday/Monday: Sunday morning cartoons”

  1. mrsrkfj says :

    Do you remember the cartoon Danger Mouse or Minute Mouse? It was a crudely drawn cartoon that used to come on one of the off channels. I can still here WIP Sports radio from upstairs as my dad dozed.

  2. Sara says :

    To a certain age I watched cartoons and then at one point I began joining my parents in reading the paper and fighting over the comics.

  3. jenn says :

    So true. Sundays had terrible cartoons! Lovely memories 🙂

  4. Fadra says :

    I keep telling my son that when I was growing up, we had nothing “on demand.” Cartoons were on Saturday mornings and you could catch Tom and Jerry during the week after school. Sunday mornings, as I mentioned, were times for my dad’s TV habits which I eventually came to enjoy.

    • Broot says :

      We still don’t have anything “on demand” unless it’s on DVD, (we’re slow. It’s available but we just haven’t bought it). My kids love Tom & Jerry when it’s on!!

  5. Julie says :

    I never knew there were even cartoons on Sundays! I don’t remember any days that we even watched television before going to church in the mornings.

  6. Erin O'Riordan says :

    My mom and I were just talking about cherry pipe tobacco; we still love that smell, even though my dad hasn’t smoked a pipe in ages.

  7. solodialogue says :

    Sundays had the worst cartoons! I agree. I only remember Wild Kingdom on Sunday afternoons… A treehouse! Unfinished or not – I’m still jealous! And why, oh why was the dump interesting when we were kids? 😉

  8. Blond Duck says :

    Here it was Saturday morning cartoons…LOVED them!

  9. Clarinda says :

    Sounds like a lovely, carefree way to spend childhood Sundays.

  10. Madeleine Begun Kane says :

    What a fun post! Thanks! The only cartoons I liked as a kid was Betty Boop. I even named my dog after hers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

