Discouragement

Scowl

Image by cucchiaio via Flickr

There’s a lot of information out there about how words can hurt, and how people can shoot down ideas with non-verbal communication like a shrug or a disapproving frown.

It happened to me, yesterday.

I was excitedly telling a group of my Playcentre peers all about my readings over the holidays, my enthusiasm for some of the concepts, and the ideas I wanted to try.

Two of my peers were encouraging – they know that new ideas are worth trying, and they felt my plan was worth a shot.

The other two weren’t so sure.  They were concerned about the people involved in my plan. And they used both their words and their non-verbals to tell me so. Shot down all of my explanations. My peers did not tell me to stop my plan,  but they did not offer a better solution, either.

Even though it was split evenly – half encouraging, half not – the funny thing is that I let the discouragement fill my mood.

Bubble popped, I wasn’t as happy to join in the rest of the discussion, and I was grumpy until after dinner.

I stewed over what they said while I told Hubby all about it.

And then he said “What did the other two say?”

As I re-told the opposite side of the story, my optimism came back.

I’m ready to go again. I will start my plan, keeping in mind the objections, but positive about what I am about to do.

It will work. I know it will. And if I start it right, it will snowball positively, so that it doesn’t even require me to keep going.

One small step at a time. 

Tags: , , , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

6 responses to “Discouragement”

  1. susan says :

    was funny to see this pop up today…I have been reflecting on the word ”encouragement” this week. At it’s root is the word courage…in other words, am I able to make someone a little braver, a little bolder, a little stronger by some well placed and well thought out words or actions?
    Suddenly encouragement (and therefore discouragement) appear a very powerful tool indeed.

  2. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Some people just don’t think before they speak, and it can certainly pack a punch. If you know you’re right, keep going!

  3. Karen V says :

    Sounds like they managed to kick you off the horse only for a little bit. I’m glad you felt the need to get back on. Now, get going on that plan because I’m just as curious as I can be about what you are up to … With what I know about you, it’s gonna be good! 🙂

  4. Joanne says :

    I often do the same thing- focus on the negative even when there was a positive. I often get that feeling or notice nonverbal discouragement when talking about my blog. It feels like such an unconventional thing to do in my world that I often don’t bring it up unless asked about it.

  5. eof737 says :

    As the saying goes, keep your plans close to your heart and follow them…

Leave a Reply

