When all I want to do is share, but I can’t.

Some friends of mine recently gifted me several past editions of the Playcentre Journal to help me in my role as editor.

Ivy at Lower Hutt Playcentre

Case in point - creative commons picture - does her mother know I've posted it here? Ivy at Lower Hutt Playcentre (Photo credit: ordinaryfool)

I jumped up and down with excitement and couldn’t wait to read the issues I had never seen.

There were cartoons about best practice, centre spreads about each of the areas of play. Discussions on the differences between Playcentre and the usual preschool/daycare/kindergarten scenario. Articles about the New Zealand Playcentre Federation’s (NZPF) bicultural journey and our dedication to Te Tiriti o Waitangi.

They are a wealth of information and resources, and sincerely, all I want to do is share!!

For some of the information, it will be easy enough to use the historical article as a starting off point and create an updated version. For other information, obtaining permission to reprint is probably a mere formality.

What to do with the rest?

My first reaction was to scan and post them on Facebook.  In fact, I did scan one page and post it before I really thought of the implications. For there ARE implications.  Pictures loaded to Facebook become Facebook’s legal property.  That’s an issue, because all this material technically belongs to NZPF, and I don’t have permission to post it online.  Then there’s copyright issues, copy and paste issues, all that fun stuff.

So my scanner is quiet.

And yet, there is a large Playcentre population on Facebook, that would use this information as springboards to fantastic things.

A conundrum. I want to share, but cannot!

Tags: , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

5 responses to “When all I want to do is share, but I can’t.”

  1. Kaitlin says :

    Oof. Copyright is always difficult to deal with. I feel for you!

  2. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    Upload them to your blog (actually, I’m not sure of WordPress’ storage legalese, so get a free unlimited website at http://www.cwahi.net. There are NO copyright issues – your content is 100% your own. And I will upgrade your account, so let me know if you get one) and post links from Facebook – that way they don’t screw you over and it’s just links that you can change at whim.

  3. solodialogue says :

    Does Playcentre have it’s own house counsel? Or a board that has house counsel? Because certainly there is someone who can figure this out so that the materials can be shared… You know – where there’s a will, there’s a way! 🙂

  4. Blond Duck says :

    That picture cracks me up!

Leave a Reply

