Tripped and fell

 

the deep well of fortress Königstein

the deep well of fortress Königstein (Photo credit: Matthias17)

I fell down the well again.  Not very far.  If I looked up, I could see the top edge, and I just had to reach out and grab it to pull myself out.

Problem was, I was looking down, not up. Down into the darkness below.

Not far enough down that my non-bloggy friends could tell.  I kept posting on Facebook. Not statuses, really, but other things. I kept doing my work. I didn’t lock myself indoors.

I even know how I got there.  I hurt.  My right foot is giving me so much trouble. I’ve had new orthotics casted but I don’t get them for another week and a half. I can walk, but I’m limping badly.

I got there, too, because the book I’m reading is dark.  I suspend my disbelief very well sometimes, and when the fiction I read is dark, my mood gets dark.

And I got there, too, because changes are afoot in my life. Big changes. Big decisions. On one hand I’m excited and ready for the changes, but on the other, it’s scary, and I just want to jump into bed and hide under the covers until it goes away.

I’m not really all the way out, yet, either. I’m sitting on the edge of the well.  One foot is in, and the other is out. I’m looking around, and deciding which way to fall.  In, or out?

For now, I’m out.

Tags: , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

8 responses to “Tripped and fell”

  1. solodialogue says :

    That well calls everyone. It shows up and snares us. Look to the bacon, my friend. It is on the outside… 😉 (And hugs – from your non-huggy friend) ❤

  2. Sara says :

    The same happens to me at times. I think it’s normal.

  3. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    I’m sorry, both about the “well” and the sore foot 😦 I’m glad that you’re up on level ground again, and hopefully those orthotics will get here soon!!!

  4. Blond Duck says :

    I hope you feel better.

  5. Jenn @ You know...that Blog? says :

    You can’t fall in, because my hand is on your shoulder and I won’t let you. Besides, you have to keep ME from falling in, didn’t you know?

    Sorry about your foot, but the new orthotics are just around the corner and that will bring relief!!

    Always here if you want to talk, or vent, or anything else.

  6. Doe says :

    What a beautiful, vivid description of such an ugly situation — you haven’t lost your talent for writing, and I’m guessing that you haven’t lost a bunch of other stuff that you feel is missing at the moment.
    Hang in there, hon.

  7. Simone @Greatfun4kids says :

    Out. Definitely.
    Hugs to you.
    xxx

  8. eof737 says :

    I hope you are on the mend… Take care of yourself. 😦

Leave a Reply

