I definitely used the word “nutbar.” Or, things you shouldn’t do if a publication is going to review your book.

I’m subediting pages for the Journal.

Some of the pages involve a book review because the theme for this journal is ‘Literacy.’

I emailed one of the authors for the high resolution cover of her book.

Do you know what she sent me instead?

The proof for the inside pages of the book (okay, that could be an honest mistake…).  A self-serving review done by an American publication.  (Hello? If I’m REVIEWING your book I don’t need someone elses!!)

AND a headshot.  Taken on her webcam.  That made her look like a goth. Or maybe a vampire. It was scary.

She seriously wanted me to use it.

Thank goodness I couldn’t. The picture was only 27 kb. Can’t use that in a print publication.

I just backed away from the email slowly. Didn’t even bother to respond.  Used a scanned hi-res picture of the cover of her book instead.  I don’t think I’ll be talking to that author anymore.  I actually seriously considered pulling the review. I might, still.

Tags: , , ,

About Broot

Thoughts about learning and life that are lost in a sea of blogs.

4 responses to “I definitely used the word “nutbar.” Or, things you shouldn’t do if a publication is going to review your book.”

  1. Doe says :

    SOOOOOO wanna see the pic!!

  2. Jenny@PracticallyPerfect says :

    I agree – I want to see the photo, now, too! And what book is it?

    • Broot says :

      I kinda don’t want to say here because it’s public, and I’m really not trying to ruin any authors. But check your email, Jenny. 😉

Leave a Reply

